Cronin, Mullikin, Dillon Receive ACC Post-Graduate Scholarships

March 9, 2009

Complete List of ACC Scholarship Winners

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Men's soccer senior Sam Cronin, volleyball graduate student Natalie Mullikin and women's soccer senior Camelyn Dillon have been named recipients of postgraduate scholarships, as announced by Commissioner John D. Swofford on Monday.

Forty-two Atlantic Coast Conference scholar-athletes in all received either the Weaver-James-Corrigan or Jim and Pat Thacker scholarships.

Sam Cronin

A four-year letterwinner for the men's soccer team, Cronin graduated in December 2008 with a degree in political science. He was named to the ESPN The Magazine 2007 Academic All-District Team in 2007 and earned the 2008 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, honoring Cronin's commitment to excellence in the classroom, community and on the soccer field. A 2008 M.A.C. Hermann Trophy finalist, Cronin left Wake Forest as the school's all-time leader in games played and games started as he started all 98 games of his college career.

Natalie Mullikin

Mullikin graduated in May of 2008 and started working toward her master's degree in management this past fall. She earned first team All-ACC honors for the second straight season in 2008 and was also named the ACC Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

This season, Mullikin topped the squad with 395 kills for an average of 3.41 per set and had a solid .316 hitting percentage. She also led the team with 123 total blocks including 25 block solos and 98 block assists. Mullikin finishes her career as the school's all-time leading blocker, holding the school record for career block solos (124), career block assists (397) career total blocks (521) and career blocks per set (1.17). She also finished third all-time for career kills with 1,423.

Camelyn Dillon

Dillon will graduate in May and is double majoring in health and exercise science and Spanish. Dillon started 20 games during her senior season and finished the year with two assists. She helped the Demon Deacons to four consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances and was named to the ACC All-Academic Team for women's soccer.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker scholarships are given to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate-level degree following graduation. Each recipient will receive $5,000 to use towards his or her graduate education. Student-athletes receiving the award have performed with distinction in both the classroom and in their respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

In addition to those receiving scholarship funds, six student-athletes will receive Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Awards. These students will be recognized for their outstanding performance in both athletic competition and the classroom throughout their collegiate careers and intend to compete at the Olympic or professional level.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James as well as Gene Corrigan, all former ACC commissioners. The league's first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954 to 1970 after a stint as the Director of Athletics at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner on September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan's tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.

Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James postgraduate scholarships were given as separate honors. The Jim Weaver award, which originated in 1970, recognized exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James award, established in 1987, also honored outstanding student-athletes.

The 42 student-athletes will be honored April 15, 2009, in Greensboro, N.C., at a luncheon hosted by the Nat Greene Kiwanis Club. The luncheon will be held at the Koury Convention Center.

Spring Game