Four Demon Deacons Earn 2010 ACC Post-Graduate Scholarships

March 23, 2010


Sasha Kulikova

Allie Sadow

Seniors Sasha Kulikova, Allie Sadow, Zack Schilawski and Brendan Gielow have all been selected as recipients of the 2010 ACC Weaver-James-Corrigan Post-Graduate Scholarship. A total of 40 ACC student-athletes earned the award.

Kulikova has led the Wake Forest women's tennis team in the top half of the singles and doubles lineup for the last four seasons. She's a two-time All-ACC honoree and leads the squad with a stellar 21-12 ACC career record. Kulikova, a native of Moscow, Russia, has earned the team's MVP award and academic award for two consecutive seasons and will graduate in May with a mathematics degree.

Sadow, a health and exercise science major, is scheduled to graduate in May and currently carries a 3.517 GPA. She was a four-time member of the ACC Women's Soccer All-Academic Team and was named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District First Team in 2009.

During her senior season, the Charlotte, N.C., native played in all 24 games, including 22 starts and finished third on the team with 15 points, scoring four goals and seven assists. She helped the Deacs to the best season in program history, finishing the year with a 16-6-2 and advancing to the quarterfinals of the NCAA Tournament for the first time in school history.

For her career, Sadow played in a school record 91 games, with 73 starting appearances. Sadow ranks fourth in school history with 19 career assists and also added 22 goals during her four-year career.

Schilawski graduated from Wake Forest in December with a degree in biology and a 3.556 GPA. Schilawski was named the 2009 NSCAA/adidas Men's Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year and was a two-time ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American First Team selection. He is a three-time member of the ACC Honor Roll and the ACC Men's Soccer All-Academic Team.

A native of Cary, N.C., Schilawski finished the 2009 season with an ACC-leading 14 goals and 35 points. A 2009 All-ACC First Team choice, Schilawski led Wake Forest to a 17-4-3 overall record and the team's fourth straight trip to the College Cup. Schilawski was drafted by the New England Revolution with the ninth overall pick in the 2010 MLS SuperDraft.

Schilawski played in a school record 99 games during his career and finished with 40 goals, 20 assists and 100 points. He leaves Wake Forest third in school annals in both goals and points.

Gielow, a Mathematics and Religion double-major, has earned the Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Award. He is one of four student-athletes recognized for their outstanding academic and athletic performance who intend to compete at the professional level.

The Muskegon, Mich., native has had a tremendous senior season, finishing no worse than 14th in any of his seven events. He also claimed his second collegiate victory earlier this spring at the JU Invitational, which was played at the famed TPC of Sawgrass Stadium Course.

Zack Schilawski

Brendan Gielow

Gielow currently leads the team with a stroke average of 72.1 this season, which is slightly lower than his 72.8 career average. Prior to this spring, Gielow was named to the 2010 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List and was a member of Team USA last summer at the 2009 Walker Cup. In 2008, Gielow earned ESPN The Magazine All-District honors.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan scholarship is awarded to selected student-athletes--three from each league institution--who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $5,000 to contribute to their graduate education. Each recipient has performed with distinction in both the classroom and his/her respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James, as well as Gene Corrigan, all of whom are former ACC commissioners. The league's first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954-70 after a stint as the Director of Athletes at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served in that capacity for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletes and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner of September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan's tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.

Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James post-graduate scholarships were given as separate honors. The Jim Weaver Award, which originated in 1970, recognized exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James Award, established in 1987, also honored outstanding student-athletes.

The 40 student-athletes will be honored on April 14th, 2010 at the Koury Convention Center in Greensboro, N.C., at a luncheon hosted by the Nat Greene Kiwanis Club.

Spring Game