Wake Forest Announces Student-Athlete Awards for Academic Excellence

April 30, 2008

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. - The Wake Forest University Department of Athletics recognized its top academic and volunteer student-athletes Monday night at the annual Academic Excellence and Awards Banquet at Bridger Field House.

Louis Frazier (football) and Natalie Mullikin (volleyball) received the Edwin G. Wilson Scholar Athletes of the Year Award and the ACC Awards for Excellence in Scholarship and Athletics.

Frazier graduated in December with a degree in biology and held a 3.76 grade point average. He is an Academic All-America first team member and a three-time All-ACC Academic selection. Frazier also completed minors in chemistry and sociology.

Frazier started at left tackle for the Deacs and graded out at 85.9 percent on the season with 42 knockdown blocks. He is a member of the Dean's List and Omicron Delta Kappa, the national leadership honor society. Frazier has been accepted to Wake Forest University Medical School for next year.

Mullikin, a three-time All-ACC Academic Volleyball team member and an ESPN the Magazine All-Academic District selection, established a new Wake Forest career solo blocks record this season. The Lebanon, Ind. native is a health and exercise science major.

The ACC's Top Six for Service Award winners from Wake Forest for the past year were Rob Barrow (men's golf), Ben Hunter (baseball), Merry Placer (track), Eli Robins (baseball), Alex Tchanguoe (women's basketball) and Ben Wooster (football).

Between these six, they have logged over 220 volunteer hours in the community along with the Athletes Care Team (ACT). This marks the second year Wooster has received the Top Six for Service Award.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan Postgraduate Scholarships were awarded to Caitlin Chrisman (cross country), Ben Hunter (baseball) and Julian Valentin (men's soccer).

The Weaver-James-Corrigan scholarships are given to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate-level degree following graduation. Each recipient will receive $5,000 to use towards his or her graduate education. Student-athletes receiving the award have performed with distinction in both the classroom and in their respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

Academic awards for the top academic performer for each team went to Ben Hunter (baseball), Bobby Hoekstra (men's basketball), Jessica Cain (women's basketball), Jenna Stento (cheer/dance), Phillip Warsaw (men's cross country/track and field), Marley Burns (men's cross country/track and field), Aileen Davis (field hockey), Louis Frazier (football), Brendan Gielow (men's golf), Natalie Sheary (women's golf), Evan Brown (men's soccer), Camelyn Dillon (women's soccer), Charles Sartor (men's tennis), Sasha Kulikova (women's tennis) and Natalie Mullikin (volleyball).

The D.E.A.C.s (Dedicated to Excellent Achievements in the Classroom) of the Week winners were also recognized Monday. D.E.A.C.s of the Week for the 2007-08 school year were D.J. Boldin (football), Caitlin Farrell (women's soccer), Nicole Castronuova (women's track), Austin da Luz (men's soccer), Corrine Groves (women's basketball), Andrew Brasseaux (men's tennis), Matt Woodlief (football), Cody Arnox (men's soccer), Travis Wadkins (men's golf), Michael Carter (football), Michael Lockett (football), Alex Wiesner (baseball), L.D. Williams (men's basketball), Marcus Tracy (men's soccer), Alex Tchanguoe (women's basketball), Michael Hoag (football), Kem Wilson (women's basketball), Tristan Dorty (football), Ted Randolph (football), Ike Opara (men's soccer), Channing Schofield (football), Josh Bush (football), Gary Clark (men's basketball), Jeff Leach (men's soccer), Devon Brown (football) and Cory Parr (men's tennis).

Dean's List members for the spring and fall semesters were recognized for each individual team and are listed below.

Cheer, dance and mascots: Alex Blake, Andrew Borum, Joseph Brawley, Amber Butts, Alyssa Cantin, Lindsay Carmen, Wes Davila, Julianne Dellorso, Christina Escobar, Sandy Gerlach, Leighton Goldsmith, Matthew Greene, Allison Hagaman, Jamie Iovacchini, Andrew Jack, Angela Kakaley, Erin Kerr, Steph Knopp, Benjellica Leslie-Jones, Seth Maheu, Krista Moore, Farahn Moore, Kelly Mullen, Jason Myers, Kim Paschall, Taylor Pryor, Nicki Rembielak, Bridget Riley, Andrew Smith, Ashlin Smith, Laura St. Ville, Jenna Stento, Patrick Stycos, Laura Waggoner, Kristen Wood, Calais Zagarow and Alexander Ziegler.

Men's basketball: Gary Clark, Bobby Hoekstra and Michael Lepore.

Women's basketball: Christen Brown, Jessica Bryant, Camille Collier, Courteney Morris, Sarah Riddle and Alex Tchangoue.

Women's golf: Erin Boyle, Jean Chua, Rachel Cook, Jordan Craig, Laura Crawford, Nannette Hill, Laura Ormson and Natalie Sheary.

Field hockey: Aileen Davis, Minou Gimbrere, Melissa Martin, Raisa Schiller, Gina Shannon and Alex Wolfgang-Price.

Men's soccer: Evan Brown, Austin Chelko, Sam Cronin, Austin da Luz, Akira Fitzgerald, Jamie Franks, Alimer Gonzalez, Jeff Leach, Justin Lichtfuss, Ike Opara, Zach Schilawski and Ryan Swaim.

Men's track and field/cross country: Gregory Billington, Chris Catton, John Compton, Nicholas Deuschle, Joshua Dewitt, Marcus Dillon, Tyler Dodds, Nico Gabrielli, Ross Hilton, Nicholas Lepley, John Moody, Keaton Morgan, Barrett Nichols, Matt Owen, Aaron Payne, Thomas Sensing and Phillip Warsaw.

Women's track and field/cross country: Jill Ahrens, Catherine Berenato, Chelsea Bolton, Mary Burns, Caitlin Chrisman, Susie Clinchy, Melissa Council, Caitlin Crawford, Whitney Curry, Molly Fresher, Elizabeth Hankinson, Molly Kennedy, Kelly Laffey, Michelle Loyd, Carly Mauch, Merry Placer, Kelly Polisin, Cristina Richard, Nicole Schappert, Katherine Sinacore, Caroline Vaughn, Kimberly Vos and Kate Wohlford.

Volleyball: Michael Faulkner, Sarah Fischer, Jessica Furlong, Ashley Homitz, Kelsey Jones, Jackie Lucas, Natalie Mullikin, Mary Kate Rodriguez and Kristen White.

Baseball: Ryan Bouton, Allan Dykstra, Joel Ernst, Nathan Frazier, Andy Goff, Matt Hammond, Ben Hunter, Austin Jones, Brad Kledzik, Ryan McGrath, Charlie Mellies, Michael Murray, Weldon Woodall and Greg Young.

Women's soccer: Christina Carter, Laura Colven, Camelyn Dillon, Caitlin Farrell, Kristina Hanley, Bess Harrington, Maggie Horne, Jill Hutchinson, Nikki Lecznar, Casey Luckhurst, Laura Morse, Ally Sadow, Amy Smerdzinski and Megan Upchurch.

Men's tennis: Cory Parr and Charles Sartor.

Women's tennis: Alex Hirsch, Ana Jerman, Aleksandra Kulikova, Sierra Poske and Christian Tara.

Men's golf: Robert Barrow, Justin Bryant, Brendan Gielow, Marc Gladson, Dustin Groves, Chris McCartin, Webb Simpson, Travis Wadkins and Preston Yates.

Football: Stanley Arnoux, Joe Birdsong, Ryan Britt, Andrew Conroy, Willie Dixon, Cannon Gaskin, Jeff Griffin, Peter Grimm, Matt Hartford, Hunter Haynes, Casey Hill, Michael Hoag, Chris Langley, Lee Malchow, Russell Nenon, Shane Popham, Michael Potteiger, Trey Schmidt, Mike Simmons, Riley Skinner, Jeremy Thompson, Doug Weaver, Geoff Wissing, Ben Wooster and Drew Wright.

Spring Game