Wake Forest Holds Black And Golden Globe Awards
Dearica Hamby (women's basketball) was named the Female Athlete of the Year.

May 3, 2014

Photo Gallery

By Currie McFayden, Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@DemonDeacons)

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. - Michael Campanaro and Dearica Hamby took home the top honors as Male and Female Athlete of the Year at the 2014 Black and Golden Globes on Saturday evening at the LJVM Coliseum.

The annual event, styled after other entertainment awards shows, featured a red carpet entrance for the student-athletes as well as a multimedia presentation of all the nominees and award winners.

Despite missing four games, Campanaro led all receivers on the football squad with 67 catches for 803 yards and six touchdowns. The NFL Draft hopeful topped former Demon Deacon Desmond Clark's school record with 229 career receptions and also ranks third all-time in receiving yards with 2,506. He was named to the All-ACC Second Team following the 2013 season.

Hamby had one of the greatest seasons for any women's basketball player in Wake Forest's history in 2013-14. The junior scored a school-record 683 points and also hauled in 340 rebounds, another school record. Hamby recorded 22 double-doubles this season, two more than the previous record held by Tracy Connor, and was also 226-of-356 from the free throw line, new records for both makes and attempts. Perhaps her biggest accomplishment of all, however, was becoming the first Demon Deacon to lead the ACC in both scoring (22.0) and rebounding (11.0) per game in the same season.

Nikita Whitlock and Jessie Merckle took home the Male and Female Performance of the Year awards.

Whitlock ACC Co-Defensive Lineman of the Week for his performance against Army on Sept. 25. He made a career-high 14 tackles in the 25-11 win. It marked the most tackles by a Wake Forest defender since 2009. Whitlock had seven solo stops and seven assists with three tackles for a loss of 6 yards. He was also credited with one forced fumble and one pass break-up. Whitlock added four other tackles for no gain.

Merckle the school and Kentner Stadium records in the javelin with a throw of 170'2" at the Wake Forest Open. It was the third-longest throw in the nation this season.

The Deacon Club Member of the Year Award, which recognizes a Deacon Club Member who goes above and beyond the call of duty, was given to Mr. Ben Sutton. Mr. Sutton, who comes from a family of four generations of Wake Forest graduates, was a former Deacon, cheerleader and administrator at Wake Forest. Mr. Sutton founded International Sports Properties (ISP) in 1992, and in 2010 he became President of IMG College, ultimately building the largest college sports media, sales and licensing company in America. This year, in support of the Wake Will campaign, Mr. Sutton has generously given a lead gift for the Sports Performance Center, in addition to his commitment to the University Wellness Initiative.

In the Male and Female Rookie of the Year categories, Casidy Callahan and Clancy Waugh came away with victories. Callahan has excelled in throwing events this spring, taking first in the hammer throw and discus throw at the High Point VertKlasse Meeting. Her mark of 173-7 (52.90m) set a new school record in the hammer throw.

Waugh captured the first win of his collegiate career with a 6-under par performance at the Mobile Bay Intercollegiate in February. The freshman followed that by finishing 2-under par (T-5th) at the Irish Creek Collegiate and shooting the same score at the ACC Championship to finish tied for 14th overall.

The Mr. and Mrs. Deacon Awards were given to student-athletes that displayed overall excellence and achievements in athletics, academics and community involvement. Field hockey's Kari Walkley was named Mrs. Deacon while Sam Fink of men's soccer was named Mr. Deacon.

Both men's and women's soccer captured the Team of the Year awards. Men's soccer finished the year with a 10-6-5 record and advanced to the third round of the NCAA Tournament, and women's soccer posted a 12-7-2 mark while also advancing to the NCAA Tournament's third round.

The Julie Griffin Spirit Stick Award, named in honor of the longtime coordinator of the CHAMPS/Life Skills program, was awarded to Aaron Rountree III of men's basketball. The award is given to the student-athlete who has shown exemplary efforts in community service and who has made a difference in both the Wake Forest community and the Winston-Salem community at large.

The Deac Moment of the Year award was presented for the one moment during the year that showed Deacon excellence and inspired the entire campus. That award went to men's basketball's momentous upset of No. 4 Duke on March 5. Trailing by seven with 5:44 to play, the Deacs played inspired basketball down the stretch, including an incredible 17-0 run, to seal the 82-72 win that culminated in a court storming at LJVM Coliseum.

Baseball's Tom Walter received the Coach of the Year honor, while track and field's Zeb Sion took home the Assistant Coach of the Year award. Walter led the Demon Deacons to wins in four of their first five ACC series this season, including a series victory over Georgia Tech in Atlanta for the first time since 2001.

Sion's athletes, including Jessie Merckle, Casidy Callahan and Charlie Ionata, have set new school records in three different events in 2014. Javelin throwers Patrick Donelan and Michael Belardia also earned top-five finishes in the event at the ACC Championships.

Men's tennis garnered the Team Video of the Year award with their parody of the song "Selfie" that features members of the squad showing off their dance moves.

Finally, the Morgan Judd Award was awarded to Kristine Cantin of the dance squad in recognition of her accomplishments in 2014.

2013-14 Black and Golden Globes Award Winners:
Male Athlete of the Year - Michael Campanaro, Football
Female Athlete of the Year - Dearica Hamby, Women's Basketball
Male Rookie of the Year - Clancy Waugh, Men's Golf
Female Rookie of the Year - Casidy Callahan, Women's Track and Field
Male Performance of the Year - Nikita Whitlock, Football
Female Performance of the Year - Jessie Merckle, Women's Track and Field
Mr. Deacon Award - Sam Fink, Men's Soccer
Mrs. Deacon Award - Kari Walkley, Field Hockey
Julie Griffin Spirit Stick Award - Aaron Rountree III, Men's Basketball
Coach of the Year - Tom Walter, Baseball
Assistant Coach of the Year - Zeb Sion, Track and Field
Men's Team of the Year - Men's Soccer
Women's Team of the Year - Women's Soccer
Team Video of the Year - "Selfie" by Men's Tennis
Morgan Judd Award - Kristine Cantin, Dance
Deac Moment of the Year - Men's Basketball upsets No. 4 Duke 82-72 on March 5

Spring Game