Boreel, Plackemeier Named WFU's Top Athletes For 2005-06

June 28, 2006

WINSTON-SALEM - Maeke Boreel (pronounced MAY-ka Bore-eel), who played in four consecutive field hockey final fours, and Ryan Plackemeier (PLACK-uh-meyer), who broke the NCAA record for punting average, will receive the Marge Crisp Award and the Arnold Palmer Award, respectively, as Wake Forest's top female and male student-athletes for the 2005-06 academic year.


The Crisp and Palmer awards are voted on by Wake Forest's head coaches and administrative staff. A field hockey player has won the Crisp Award each of the last four years and five of the last six years. Plackemeier is the first Demon Deacon football player to win the Palmer Award since Dustin Lyman in 2000.


Boreel leaves Wake Forest as the school's all-time assists leader with 54 and she ranks third in Demon Deacon history with 145 career points. As a senior, Boreel earned first team All-ACC honors, all-region honors and she was selected second team All-American.


Boreel was a key part of one of the most successful four-year runs by any team in Wake Forest history. Boreel helped lead the Deacons to three consecutive NCAA championships from 2002-04 and she was a part of two ACC championship teams. This past year, Boreel helped guide Wake to the regular season ACC title and ultimately to the national semifinal round of the NCAA Tournament for the fourth consecutive year.


Boreel edged Michelle Sikes (track/cross country), Amanda Goins (golf) and Sarah Kozey (soccer) for the Crisp Award.


Plackemeier put the finishing touches on an outstanding four-year career with his most productive season. He led the nation in punting and net punting as a senior, earning first team All-ACC and consensus first team All-American honors. Perhaps most impressive, "Plack" won the Ray Guy Award as the nation's top punter.


Plackemeier finished his career as the NCAA's all-time leading punter in terms of average yards per punt, among those who had at least 200 punts. He was taken in the seventh round of the NFL Draft by the Seattle Seahawks.


Plackemeier beat several outstanding male student-athletes for the Palmer Award, most notably teammate Chris Barclay, the 2005 ACC Player of the Year in football, and Todd Paul, the All-American tennis player for the Deacons.


Boreel and Plackemeier will receive their awards at halftime of a football or men's basketball game this season.





Arnold Palmer Award Winners

The Arnold Palmer Athlete of the Year Award is presented annually to the Wake Forest University male athlete whose athletic achievements best represent the standards

of excellence of the Wake Forest male athletic programs.


1964         Frank Christie                Basketball and Baseball

1965         Brian Piccolo                 Football

1966         Bob Leonard                  Basketball

1967         Paul Long                      Basketball

1968         Jack Lewis                    Golf

1970         Charlie Davis                 Basketball

1971+       Win Headley                  Football

1971+       Charlie Davis                 Basketball

1972         Jim Simons                   Golf

1973         Eddie Payne                  Basketball

1974         Tony Byers                   Basketball

1975         Curtis Strange                Golf

1976         Jay Haas                      Golf

1977         Bill Armstrong                Football

1978         Rod Griffin                     Basketball

1979         Gary Hallberg                Golf

1980         James McDougald          Football

1981         Frank Johnson               Basketball

1982         Kenny Duckett               Football

1983         Bill Merrifield                  Baseball

1984         Anthony Teachey           Basketball

1985         Delaney Rudd                Basketball

1986         Gary Baldinger               Football

1987         Tyrone Bogues               Basketball

1988         Bill Masse                     Baseball

1989         Mike Elkins                   Football

1990         Ricky Proehl                  Football

1991         Steve Brown                 Football and Track and Field

1992         Rodney Rogers              Basketball

1993         Rodney Rogers              Basketball

1994         Randolph Childress         Basketball

1995         Randolph Childress         Basketball

1996         Rusty LaRue                  Football, Men's Basketball

1997         Tim Duncan                   Basketball

1998         Nolan Swanson             Cross Country/Track and Field

1999         Jon Palmieri                   Baseball

2000         Dustin Lyman                 Football

2001         Cory Sullivan                Baseball

2002         Dave Bush                    Baseball

2003         Josh Howard                 Basketball

2004         Bill Haas                       Golf

2005         Chris Paul                     Basketball

2006         Ryan Plackemeier          Football

+ denotes co-winners



Marge Crisp Award Winners

The Marge Crisp Athlete of the Year Award is presented annually to the Wake Forest University female athlete whose athletic achievements

best represent the standards of excellence of the Wake Forest female athletic programs.


1980         Jane Jackson                 Basketball

1981         Charlotte Grant               Golf

1982         Charlotte Grant               Golf

1983         Dawn Powers                Cross Country/Track & Field

1984         Pamela Pounds              Volleyball

1985         Janice Collins                Basketball

1986         Karen Dunn                   Cross Country/Track & Field

1987         Amy Privette                 Basketball

1988         Alice Neal                     Basketball

1989         Karen Noble                  Golf

1990         Jennifer Mitchell              Basketball

1991         Tina Lane                 Cross Country/Track & Field

1992         Diane McKeon               Tennis

1993         Tracy Connor                 Basketball

1994         Nicole Levesque            Basketball

1995         Stephanie Neill               Golf

1996         Catrina Bindel                Track & Field

1997         Laura Philo                    Golf

1998         Janelle Kraus                 Track & Field/Cross Country

1999         Janelle Kraus                 Track & Field/Cross Country

2000         Janelle Kraus                 Track & Field/Cross Country

2001         Jenny Everett                Field Hockey

2002         Bea Bielik                      Tennis

2003         Kelly Doton                    Field Hockey

2004         Kelly Doton                    Field Hockey

2005         Kelly Dostal                   Field Hockey

2006         Maeke Boreel                Field Hockey

Spring Game