Will Craig Takes 2014-15 Arnold Palmer Award
Will Craig
July 24, 2015

By Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@DemonDeacons)

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Wake Forest baseball player Will Craig has been named the Arnold Palmer Award recipient for the 2014-15 school year. The award is given annually to the top male student-athlete at Wake Forest.

The sophomore first baseman-pitcher-DH lit up opposing pitching throughout the season on the way to finishing among the ACC and national leaders in batting average, slugging percentage, home runs and RBI’s. At season’s end, Craig became the first Demon Deacon in 12 years to earn ACC Player of the Year honors, as Jamie D’Antona in 2003 was the last player to earn the award.

Craig’s final stat line consisted of a .382 batting average, 13 home runs and 58 RBIs. He led the ACC in batting average, slugging percentage (.702), was sixth in RBIs and fifth in home runs. In addition, Craig was fourth in the ACC in total bases and third in doubles.

His outstanding season was aided by a pair of emerging sluggers in sophomore Nate Mondou and freshman Stuart Fairchild. Mondou and Fairchild were both first team All-ACC selections with Mondou hitting .338 to finish seventh in the ACC and Fairchild posting a .349 average, the fourth-best mark in the league. All three have earned All-America honors.

Craig was a consensus first team All-American while Mondou earned third team honors. Fairchild was a consensus Freshman All-American and a member of the ACC’s All-Freshman team.

The native of Johnson City, Tennessee, will return to the Demon Deacon baseball program next year, which finished the 2015 season with a 27-26 record while posting a 12-18 mark in conference play.

Spring Game