Wake Forest Names 5 to Sports Hall of Fame

July 31, 2009


WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. - Wake Forest University today announced five new inductees into the school's Sports Hall of Fame.

The honorees include three former Demon Deacons who made their mark in football and two in basketball. The football players include former tight end John Henry Mills and punter Chuck Ramsey along with track and football standout Steve Brown. Jerry Steele, the co-captain of Wake Forest's 1961 basketball team and the long-time basketball coach at High Point University, will join the induction class as will Jack Jensen. Jensen, who played basketball under Bones McKinney, went on to become the winningest basketball coach in Guilford College history.

The five will be inducted into the Hall of Fame during ceremonies at the Benton Convention Center on September 18. The class will be introduced to the public during a ceremony at halftime of Wake Forest's football game with Elon on September 19.

Steve Brown was a two-sport star at Wake Forest, excelling in track and football. In track, Brown was a four-time ACC champion, twice winning the 110 meter outdoor hurdles and twice claiming the indoor 55 meter title. A native of Washington, D.C., Brown came to Wake Forest in 1987 and became a four-year starter in football. In 2002, he was named to the ACC's 50th Anniversary Men's Outdoor Track and Field team.

Brown finished second in the outdoor 110 meter hurdles at the 1990 NCAA Track and Field Championship. As a wide receiver, he caught 122 career passes with three touchdowns. Brown was Wake's second-leading receiver in each of his final three seasons of football.

In 1991, Brown received the Arnold Palmer Award as Wake Forest's top male student-athlete. An alternate on the 1996 U.S. Olympic track and field team, he ran for his father's native country, Trinidad and Tobago, in the 2000 Olympic games in Sydney and advanced through the first round of the 110 meter hurdles.

John Henry Mills was a four-year letterman at tight end under head coach Bill Dooley. Mills is Wake's all-time leading receiver among tight ends with 142 receptions for 1,652 yards. A three-time All-ACC first-team selection from 1990 through 1992, he finished third in the ACC in receptions in 1990 with 46 and led the league in 1991 with 51. Against Duke in 1990, he caught 12 passes for 230 yards, still the second-most receiving yards in a game in school history. A fifth-round pick of the Houston Oilers in the 1993 NFL Draft, Mills played seven seasons in the NFL with Houston, Oakland and Minnesota. In 1996, while with the Oilers, he earned All-Pro honors as a special teams player.

Chuck Ramsey led the nation in punting in 1973 while earning All-America honors. Ramsey averaged 44.8 yards per punt as a senior and was named first team All-America by the Football Writers Association, Time Magazine, the Sporting News and the Newspaper Enterprise Association. From 1971 through 1973, Ramsey was the ACC's top punter and was a first team All-ACC pick as a junior and a senior. Following his senior year, he was invited to the Blue-Gray, East-West Shrine and Hula Bowl all-star games. Following his collegiate career, Ramsey signed with the New York Jets as a free agent and spent eight productive years in the NFL. He was named to the Jets' All-Time Four Decade team in 2003. Originally a sixth round pick of New England in 1974, Ramsey signed with Chicago of the World Football League. He re-joined the NFL with Detroit in 1977

Jerry Steele was the co-captain of Wake Forest's 1961 ACC Champion basketball team and went on to a brilliant collegiate coaching career. The Elkin, N.C. native played for the Deacons under Bones McKinney and he twice earned All-ACC Academic team honors. After completing his masters degree at the University of North Carolina, Steele took over a struggling basketball program at Guilford College in 1962. Following a 5-20 record his first year, Steel led the Quakers to two conference titles, four district championships and made four appearances in the NAIA national tournament in Kansas City. In 1969-70, Steele guided Guilford to 29 consecutive wins and a 32-5 record while finishing fourth in the nation. In 1970, Steele reunited with McKinney as an assistant coach with the American Basketball Association's Carolina Cougars. He succeeded McKinney as head coach midway through the season. In 1972, Steele became the head coach at High Point University. In 31 seasons, Steele became the school's all-time winningest coach with a record of 458-412. He was inducted into the NAIA Hall of Fame in 1986.

Like Steele, Jack Jensen played basketball for the Demon Deacons under Bones McKinney. Jensen is Guilford College's all-time winningest men's basketball coach with 386 wins in 29 seasons.

Jensen joined the Guilford coaching staff in 1965 after coaching basketball at Elkin High. As Steele's assistant coach for five seasons, Jensen helped the Quakers to a 114-36 and four trips to the NAIA national basketball tournament. He became the head basketball coach in 1970 when Steele departed for the ABA. In 1973, Jensen led the Quakers to the NAIA basketball national championship, the Quakers' first national title of any kind. With future NBA stars M.L. Carr and World B. Free, Guilford became the first unseeded team to win the basketball national championship. In 29 years as Guilford's head basketball coach, Jensen won 386 career games. Jensen has also led Guilford to four national championships as men's golf coach. He guided the Quakers to the NAIA golf title in 1989 and has claimed two NCAA Division III titles with victories in 2002 and 2005. Jensen, who took over as golf coach in 1976, is a member of the NAIA, North Carolina and Guilford College Sports halls of fame. In 2008, he was inducted in to the Golf Coaches of America Hall of Fame. He is a three-time winner of the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year award. Jensen remains one of just two people who coached teams that won national NAIA championships in two different sports.

The new class brings the total number of inductees in the Wake Forest Sports Hall of Fame to 116. The first class was inducted in 1970-71 and included Brian Piccolo, Murry Greason, Peahead Walker and Jim Weaver.

Spring Game