Four Student-Athletes Chosen For Omicron Delta Kappa

Oct. 20, 2006

Wake Forest University athletics takes pride in announcing that four of its most outstanding student-athletes have been chosen for induction into Omicron Delta Kappa, the national leadership honor society. The new members are: Lauren Crandall (field hockey), Louis Frazier (football), Charles Mellies (baseball), and Michelle Sikes (track/cross country). These students are outstanding leaders of their respective sports, while maintaining a high scholastic average. These student athletes were chosen for this honor by their peers, who recognized the high quality of their leadership both on and off the playing field.

The original Omicron Delta Kappa Circle was formed in 1914 at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia. The founders formulated the idea that leadership of exceptional quality and versatility in college should be recognized in all phases of campus life. ODK recognizes superior achievement in scholarship, athletics, campus or community service, social and religious activities and campus government, journalism, speech and mass media, and the creative and performing arts. Emphasis is placed on the development of the whole person, both as a member of the college community and as a contributor to a better society.

The Wake Forest Circle of ODK was formed in 1939 on the old campus. From that year on, some of the most illustrious names in Wake Forest history signed their names into the book of membership: former presidents, provosts, deans, coaches, athletes, as well as leaders in many other endeavors, on both the local and national scales. Beta Alpha Circle is proud to join the names of these four student athletes to the historic Book of Names. Congratulations to our four new members of ODK!

Spring Game