Wake Forest Runs at Pre-Nationals Invitational
Oct. 14, 2017

By Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@WakeTrack)

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – For the second meet in a row, Mitchell Day led the men and Samantha Halvorsen paced the women as Wake Forest cross country competed at the Pre-Nationals Invitational Saturday morning.

Both Day and Halvorsen led the Demon Deacons on Sept. 29 at the Paul Short Run. Four men competed in the Men’s Red Seeded 8k competition while seven women ran in the Women’s Red Seeded 6k. Robert Heppenstall ran for the Deacs in the Men’s Unseeded Black 8k.

Running in just his second collegiate race, Day paced the men with a time of 24:07.4, good for 56th. Sebastian Fischbach finished next for the Deacs with a time of 24:47.6 while Jack Tiernan, competing in his first collegiate cross country race, finished third out of the four Deacon men with a time of 24:51.2. Freshman William Hunsdale rounded out the seeded 8k with a time of 25:18.7.

On the women’s side, Halvorsen finished 47th with a time of 20:43.04 while Hannah Brookover crossed the line next at 21:13.84. Eliza Lukens-Day came in at 21:30.42, closely followed by Mimi Smith at 21:33.58. Cate Allen finished at 21:47.48, Anna Campbell ran 21:56.89 and Kathryn Kenwood wrapped up the seeded 6k with a time of 22:53.10.

The women’s team finished 20 of 43 teams with 570 points. Oregon took the team title with 63 points.

Running in the unseeded 8k, Heppenstall finished 34th with a time of 25:01.24.

Up next, the Demon Deacons return to Louisville on Oct. 27 for the ACC Championships.

Men’s Red Seeded 8k
56. Mitchell Day, 24:07.4
140. Sebastian Fischbach, 24:47.6
146. Jack Tiernan, 24:51.2
204. William Hunsdale, 25:18.7

Men’s Black Unseeded 8k
34. Robert Heppenstall, 25:01.24

Women’s Red Seeded 6k
47. Samantha Halvorsen, 20:43.1
103. Hannah Brookover, 21:13.9
133. Eliza Lukens-Day, 21:30.5
137. Mimi Smith, 21:33.6
163. Cate Allen, 21:47.5
175. Anna Campbell, 21:56.9
247. Kathryn Kenwood, 22:53.1

Women’s Team Results (20 of 43)
1. Oregon, 63 points
2. Colorado, 91 points
3. Arkansas, 148 points
4. Utah State, 214 points
20. Wake Forest, 570 points