Fairchild Picked as Howser Trophy Semifinalist
May 18, 2017

Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@WakeBaseball)

DALLAS – Wake Forest junior Stuart Fairchild was named one of 25 semifinalists for the 2017 Dick Howser Trophy, the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) announced Thursday.

The award, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting.

A two-time All-ACC honoree, Fairchild is currently hitting .347 with 15 doubles, 13 homers and 55 RBIs. He also leads the team with 15 stolen bases and has yet to commit an error in 135 defensive chances.

Fairchild surpassed 200 career hits earlier in the season, and is a lifetime .328 hitter. In his three seasons, he has totaled 49 doubles, 23 homers, 143 RBIs and 41 stolen bases.

The ACC leads all conferences with six semifinalists, followed by the SEC with four.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

Previous winners of the award include Andrew Benintendi, Kris Bryant, Stephen Strasburg and Buster Posey, among others.

The finalists will be announced on Friday, June 9. The 2017 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the seventh year. The winner will be unveiled on MLB Network on Friday, June 16 and then a press conference with the winner will be held on Saturday, June 17 at 10 a.m. (CDT), the opening day of the 2017 CWS.



2017 Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalists
Riley Adams, C, San Diego
J.B. Bukauskas, SP, North Carolina
Seth Beer, OF, Clemson
Dylan Burdeaux, 1B, Southern Miss
Jake Burger, 3B, Missouri State
Morgan Cooper, SP, Texas
Greg Deichmann, OF, LSU
Jeremy Eierman, SS, Missouri State
Drew Ellis, 3B, Louisville
Stuart Fairchild, OF, Wake Forest
Ben Fisher, 1B, Eastern Kentucky
Steven Gingery, SP, Texas Tech
Brian Glowicki, RP, Minnesota
Hunter Hargrove, 1B, Texas Tech
Adam Haseley, UTL, Virginia
Luke Heimlich, SP, Oregon State
Niko Hulsier, OF, Morehead State
Ryan Mahan, 2B, Kentucky
Brendan McKay, UTL, Louisville
David Peterson, SP, Oregon
Brent Rooker, 1B, Mississippi State
Jake Scheiner, SS, Houston
Braden Schewmake, 2B, Texas A&M
Taylor Schwaner, SS/3B, Southeastern Louisiana
Jake Thompson, SP, Oregon State

Baseball Games