Record Nine Deacs Named to All-ACC Teams
May 22, 2017

Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@WakeBaseball)

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Wake Forest had a record nine student-athletes selected to All-ACC teams, the league announced on Monday afternoon.

Ben Breazeale, Stuart Fairchild and Gavin Sheets were named to the first team, Johnny Aiello, Parker Dunshee, Connor Johnstone, Jake Mueller and Griffin Roberts were picked to the second team and Jonathan Pryor was named to the third team.

That surpasses the previous program record of seven All-ACC honorees in 2001, and is also the most in the ACC this year.

Fairchild, a junior outfielder, is an All-ACC pick for the third time, including the second time on the first team. He's hitting .350 this year with 16 doubles, 13 home runs, 57 RBIs and a team-high 16 stolen bases.

Sheets is a first team honoree at first base after making the third team a season ago. He leads the nation with 77 RBIs, also totaling a .321 average and a team-high 19 home runs.

Breazeale is a first-time honoree as the first team catcher. He's hitting .350 this season with 15 doubles, seven homers and 44 RBIs and ranks in the top 10 in program history in walks.



Dunshee is also a two-time All-ACC honoree and was picked to the second team this year. He's tied for the ACC lead with nine wins and ranks in the top five with 94 strikeouts. He has left in line for the victory in 13 of his 14 starts.

Aiello is a first-time recipient as the second-team third baseman. He ranks second in the ACC with 18 homers, and has recorded a .330 average, 16 doubles and 49 RBIs in addition to 4-for-4 in stolen bases.

A graduating senior, Johnstone is also honored for the first time as a second teamer. He has an unblemished 7-0 record and 3.46 ERA, and threw complete-game shutouts over Nicholls and Miami.

Mueller, a first-year starter, receives the second-team award at second base. He leads the team with a .364 average and has 13 doubles, 52 runs scored and five steals.

Roberts is also a first-time honoree as a second-team relief pitcher. The Wake Forest closer has a 1.60 ERA and eight saves, striking out 65 batters in 45 innings.

Pryor rounds things out for the Deacs as a third-team outfielder. The Wake Forest leadoff man is hitting .359 with a team-high 18 doubles, as well as four homers, 32 RBIs and five steals.

Player of the Year
Brendan McKay, Louisville

Pitcher of the Year
J.B. Bukauskas, North Carolina

Defensive Player of the Year
Devin Hairston, Louisville

Freshman of the Year
Ashton McGee, North Carolina

Coach of the Year
Dan McDonnell, Louisville

2017 All-ACC Baseball Teams

First Team
C - Ben Breazeale, Wake Forest

1B - Pavin Smith, Virginia
1B - Gavin Sheets, Wake Forest
2B - Wade Bailey, Georgia Tech
3B - Drew Ellis, Louisville
SS - Logan Warmoth, North Carolina
OF - Brian Miller, North Carolina
OF - Adam Haseley, Virginia
OF - Stuart Fairchild, Wake Forest
OF - Reed Rohlman, Clemson
DH/UT - Brendan McKay, Louisville
SP - Tyler Holton, Florida State
SP - Brendan McKay, Louisville
SP - J.B. Bukauskas, North Carolina
RP - Lincoln Henzman, Louisville
RP - Josh Hiatt, North Carolina

Second Team
C - Joey Bart, Georgia Tech
C - Colby Fitch, Louisville
1B - Sam Fragale, Virginia Tech
2B - Jake Mueller, Wake Forest
3B - Johnny Aiello, Wake Forest

SS - Joe Dunand, NC State
OF - Seth Beer, Clemson
OF - Griffin Conine, Duke
OF - Cameron Simmons, Virginia
OF - Tom Stoffel, Virginia Tech
DH/UT - Quincy Nieporte, Florida State
SP - Pat Krall, Clemson
SP - Jeb Bargfeldt, Miami
SP - Parker Dunshee, Wake Forest
SP - Connor Johnstone, Wake Forest
RP - Griffin Roberts, Wake Forest

Third Team
C - Robbie Coman, Virginia
1B - Andrew Cox, Clemson
2B - Jack Owens, Virginia Tech
3B - Dylan Busby, Florida State
3B - Trevor Craport, Georgia Tech
SS - Devin Hairston, Louisville
SS - Ernie Clement, Virginia
OF - Chase Pinder, Clemson
OF - Matt Vierling, Notre Dame
OF - Jonathan Pryor, Wake Forest
DH/UT - Brad Debo, NC State
SP - Charlie Barnes, Clemson
SP - Kade McClure, Louisville
SP - Nick Bennett, Louisville
SP - Gianluca Dalatri, North Carolina
RP - Tommy Doyle, Virginia

All-Freshman Team
SS - Logan Davidson, Clemson
OF - J.C. Flowers, Florida State
1B - Drew Mendoza, Florida State
SS - Austin Wilhite, Georgia Tech
SP - Nick Bennett, Louisville
SP - Gianluca Dalatri, North Carolina
DH/UT - Ashton McGee, North Carolina
SP - Michael Bienlien, NC State
DH/UT - Brad Debo, NC State
2B - Will Wilson, NC State
2B - Alex Amos, Pittsburgh
SP - Noah Murdock, Virginia

Women's Football Camp