Beck and Stephens Named Edwin G. Wilson Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Andrea Beck (top) and Evan Stephens

July 11, 2013

By Scott Wortman, Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@WFUSports)

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. - Wake Forest volleyball player Andrea Beck and baseball player Evan Stephens have been named the school's 2012-13 Edwin G. Wilson Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award winners.

The award is presented annually to the most outstanding junior or senior male and female student-athletes for academic excellence. The award is voted upon by all Wake Forest head coaches and athletic administrators.

Beck graduated from Wake Forest this spring earning a degree in biology with minors in Spanish and chemistry. Now a two-time recipient of the Edwin G. Wilson Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, Beck also recently received the ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award for Wake Forest for the second straight season.

Beck earned an NCAA postgraduate scholarship and will attend the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine beginning in 2014. She will first play professional volleyball in Europe for a year prior to entering med school.

In her senior season in 2012, Beck led the Demon Deacons with 396 kills while averaging 3.41 kills per set. She was also an Academic All-America first team selection, an All-ACC Academic honoree and a nominee for the Senior CLASS Award. Coming into the 2012 season, she earned All-ACC Preseason honors for the second year in a row.

Beck turned in one of the best four-year careers in Wake Forest history, ranking in the top eight in nine different statistical categories. The Winston-Salem native finished fifth in points (1,493), sixth in kills (1,236), sixth in hitting percentage (.297), sixth in total blocks (349), tied for sixth in block assists (292), seventh in solo blocks (57), eight in kills per set (2.97), eight in attack attempts (2,826) and eight in blocks per set (0.84).



Stephens, a native of Lexington, Ky., owns a 3.809 GPA in finance and is the first baseball player to win the Edwin G. Wilson Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award.

Stephens played in all 55 games this past season for the Demon Deacons and had a breakout year as Wake Forest's leadoff man, leading the team with a career-high .358 batting average.

Stephens was the ideal hitter to have at the top of the order with 61 singles (68 hits) and 42 walks, helping him post a team-best .494 on-base percentage. In the field, Stephens was one of the Deacons' most reliable and versatile defenders, making just two errors and playing all three outfield positions throughout the season.

By getting it done in the classroom as well, Stephens was named to the Capital One Academic All-District Team for the second consecutive season in 2013.

Edwin G. Wilson Scholar-Athletes of the Year
2012-13 - Evan Stephens (baseball), Andrea Beck (volleyball)
2011-12 - Paul Loeser (cross country/track & field), Andrea Beck (volleyball)
2010-11 - Lee Bedford (golf), Natalie Sheary (golf)
2009-10 - Zack Schilawski (soccer), Natalie Sheary (golf)
2008-09 - Sam Cronin (soccer), Natalie Mullikin (volleyball)
2007-08 - Louis Frazier (football), Natalie Mullikin (volleyball)
2006-07 - Louis Frazier (football), Michelle Sikes (cross country/track & field)
2005-06 - Grey Ballard (soccer), Anne Bersagel (cross country/track & field)
2004-05 - Brad White (football), Anne Bersagel (cross country/track & field)
2003-04 - William Hesmer (soccer), Anne Bersagel (cross country/track & field)
2002-03 - Brent Wanner (golf), Nuria Clau (golf)
2001-02 - Brent Wanner (golf), Rachel Burns (track & field)
2000-01 - Raul Munoz (tennis), Jenny Everett (field hockey)
1999-00 - Matthew Burdick (football), Amy Marchell (field hockey)
1998-99 - Matthew Burdick (football), Jill Snyder (cross country/track & field)
1997-98 -Ihor Dotsenkio (soccer), Lule Aydin (tennis)
1996-97 - William Clark (football), Lindsay Seawright (basketball)
1995-96 - Rusty LaRue (football/basketball/baseball), Maura Carney (soccer), Cindy Moreshead (cross country/track & field)
1994-95 - Andy Bloom (track & field), Colleen Lee (field hockey)
1993-94 - Stuart Burnham (cross country/track & field), Stephanie Neill (golf)

NCAA Tennis Gear