Mitchell Wilbekin Named Candidate for Senior CLASS Award
Jan. 4, 2018

By Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@WakeMBB)

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Wake Forest senior guard Mitchell Wilbekin has been selected as a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award, as announced by the organization on Thursday.

Wilbekin is one of 30 Division I seniors up for the award in college basketball. He is one of four ACC players named to the list, along with Grayson Allen of Duke, Braian Angola of Florida State and Joel Berry II of North Carolina.

Wilbekin started 66 games over his first three seasons, leading the team in free throw percentage each year. He made his first 16 free throws of the 2016-17 season before his first miss, a streak of 31 consecutive free throws dating back to 2015-16 and the longest streak by a Deac since 1999-00.

This season, he has started in 11 of his 14 appearances and is averaging 9.4 points per game. The Gainesville, Fla. native currently has 174 career 3-pointers, the seventh most in Wake Forest history, and has recorded 39 double figure games in his career.

Off the court, Wilbekin is majoring in communication and is on pace to graduate this spring. He is the men’s basketball representative on the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and has spent time with many Wake Forest community events, including Hit the Bricks, Project Pumpkin and Santa’s Helpers. He has also volunteered with the Salvation Army’s Boys and Girls Club, Special Olympics Clinics and the Skip Prosser Literacy Program.

Wilbekin is the fourth Demon Deacon to be named a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award since its inception in 2001. Travis McKie earned the honor in 2013-14, C.J. Harris in 2012-13 and Kyle Visser in 2006-07.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Final Four. The candidate list will be narrowed to 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

2017-18 Senior CLASS Award Candidates
Grayson Allen, Duke
Shawn Anderson, Navy
Braian Angola, Florida State
Joel Berry II, North Carolina
Trevon Bluiett, Xavier
Vladimir Brodziansky, TCU
Jevon Carter, West Virginia
Gary Clark, Cincinnati
Angel Delgado, Seton Hall
Ben Emelogu II, SMU
Marcus Foster, Creighton
Rob Gray, Houston
Rokas Gustys, Hofstra
A.J. Jacobson, North Dakota
Justin Johnson, Western Kentucky
Kodi Justice, Arizona State
Marcus Lee, Cal
Yante Maten, Georgia
Bryant McIntosh, Northwestern
Jordan McLaughlin, USC
Luke Morrison, Army
Cameron Morse, Youngstown State
Albert Owens, Oral Roberts
Wesley Person, Troy
Kahron Ross, Lehigh
Gerdarius Troutman, Florida Atlantic
Kevin Vannatta, UNC Asheville
Mitchell Wilbekin, Wake Forest
Thomas Wilder, Western Michigan
Jonathan Williams, Gonzaga