Al-Farouq Aminu Named AP All-American

March 30, 2010

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. - Wake Forest sophomore forward Al-Farouq Aminu has been named honorable mention All-America by the Associated Press.

It is the third All-America honor for Aminu this season after the Norcross, Ga. native received third team honors from and Aminu has also been named first team all-district by the NABC and the USBWA.

Aminu was the only player in the ACC and one of just five players in the power six conferences to average a double-double on the season. He averaged 15.8 points and an ACC-leading 10.7 rebounds per game.

Aminu was the first Demon Deacon to lead the ACC in rebounding since Tim Duncan accomplished the feat in 1997. Aminu also led all power six conference players in rebounding.

Aminu posted 19 double-doubles on the season to lead the ACC and rank ninth nationally. The total was the eighth-highest in school history and the most by a Deacon since Tim Duncan had 29 double-doubles in 1997.

Aminu is the 14th player in Wake Forest history to earn All-America honors. Wake Forest has had an All-American in two straight seasons. Jeff Teague was a second team All-American in 2008-09.

2009-10 Associated Press All-Americans

First Team
Evan Turner, Ohio State
John Wall, Kentucky
Wesley Johnson, Syracuse
Scottie Reynolds, Villanova
DeMarcus Cousins, Kentucky

Second Team
James Anderson, Oklahoma State
Sherron Collins, Kansas
Greivis Vasquez, Maryland
Jon Scheyer, Duke
Da'Sean Butler, West Virginia

Third Team
Greg Monroe, Georgetown
Cole Aldrich, Kansas
Damion James, Texas
Luke Harangody, Notre Dame
Darington Hobson, New Mexico

Honorable Mention
Al-Farouq Aminu, Wake Forest; Kevin Anderson, Richmond; Luke Babbitt, Nevada; Keith Benson, Oakland; Matt Bouldin, Gonzaga. Randy Culpepper, UTEP; Noah Dahlman, Wofford; Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech; Devan Downey, South Carolina. Muhammad El-Amin, Stony Brook; Kenneth Faried, Morehead State; Alex Franklin, Siena; Jimmer Fredette, BYU; Marquez Haynes, Texas-Arlington. Gordon Hayward, Butler; Lazar Hayward, Marquette; Adnan Hodzic, Lipscomb; Reggie Holmes, Morgan State; Robbie Hummel, Purdue. Charles Jenkins, Hofstra; Garrison Johnson, Jackson State; Orlando Johnson, UC Santa Barbara; Tyren Johnson, Louisiana-Lafayette; Dominique Jones, South Florida. Adam Koch, Northern Iowa; David Kool, Western Michigan; Damian Lillard, Weber State; Kalin Lucas, Michigan State; C.J. McCollum, Lehigh. E'Twaun Moore, Purdue; Artsiom Parakhouski, Radford; Patrick Patterson, Kentucky; Quincy Pondexter, Washington; Jacob Pullen, Kansas State. Jerome Randle, California; Andy Rautins, Syracuse; Justin Rutty, Quinnipiac; Omar Samhan, Saint Mary's; Kyle Singler, Duke; Ekpe Udoh, Baylor; Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State; Hassan Whiteside, Marshall; Ryan Wittman, Cornell.



Louisville vs. Wake Forest Football