Travis McKie Named Candidate for Senior CLASS Award
Travis McKie is one of three ACC players named as a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award.

Oct. 30, 2013

By Scott Wortman, Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@TieDyeNation)

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. - Wake Forest senior forward Travis McKie has been selected as a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award, as announced on Wednesday.

McKie is one of 30 Division I seniors up for the award in college basketball. He is one of just three ACC players named to the list, along with C.J. Fair of Syracuse and Joe Harris of Virginia.

The leading returning career scorer and rebounder in the ACC, McKie was an honorable mention All-ACC selection last season after averaging 13.5 points, 7.0 rebounds, 1.4 steals and 1.2 assists per game. The two-time All-ACC pick ranked 10th in the league in rebounding and 14th in scoring. McKie was also seventh in steals and 10th in free throw percentage last year.

McKie scored his 1,000th career point early last season and enters the 2013-14 campaign with 1,334 career points and 680 career rebounds. McKie's 94 career starts and 16 career double-doubles also lead all active ACC players.

The Richmond, Va. native ranks 23rd all-time in school history in career points and 19th in career rebounds. He also ranks 13th in career rebounding average (7.2) and should enter the career charts in blocks, steals, free throws and 3-point field goals in 2013-14.

Off the court, McKie is majoring in communication and is on pace to graduate this spring. He has volunteered with projects such as Habitat for Humanity, Santa's Helpers, Eat With The Deacs and Hit the Bricks to benefit cancer research.

McKie is the third Demon Deacon to be named a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award since its inception in 2001. C.J. Harris was a candidate last season, while Kyle Visser was a candidate during the 2006-07 season.



An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Final Four. The candidate list will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

2013-14 Senior CLASS Award Candidates
Travis Bader, Oakland
Jerrelle Benimon, Towson
Kyle Boswell, UC Santa Barbara
Allan Chaney, High Point
Aaron Craft, Ohio State
Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State
Melvin Ejim, Iowa State
Dwayne Evans, Saint Louis
Chris Eversley, Cal Poly
C.J. Fair, Syracuse
Tim Frazier, Penn State
Jakob Gollon, Mercer
Joe Harris, Virginia
Holton Hunsaker, Utah Valley
Anthony Ireland, Loyola Marymount
Joe Jackson, Memphis
Walt Lemon Jr., Bradley
J.J. Mann, Belmont
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Sean McGonagill, Brown
Travis McKie, Wake Forest
Jordan McRae, Tennessee
Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
Dennis Ogbe, Tennessee Tech
Kendrick Perry, Youngstown State
Dwight Powell, Stanford
Augustine Rubit, South Alabama
Russ Smith, Louisville
Chris Udofia, Denver
Patric Young, Florida

Louisville vs. Wake Forest Football