C.J. Harris Named Candidate for Senior CLASS Award
C.J. Harris is one 30 players in Division I college basketball up for the Senior CLASS Award.

Oct. 31, 2012

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. - Wake Forest senior guard C.J. Harris has been selected as a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award, as announced on Wednesday.

Harris is one of 30 Division I seniors up for the award in college basketball. He is one of just three ACC players named to the list, along with Duke's Mason Plumlee and Florida State's Michael Snaer.

The ACC's leading returning scorer this season, Harris was a third team All-ACC pick after averaging 16.7 points per game in 2011-12. He ranked fourth in the ACC in scoring and also led the league in minutes played and free throw percentage.

The Winston-Salem native scored his 1,000th career point during last season and could move into the top 15 on Wake Forest's career scoring list this year.

Harris is also entering his third season as a team captain after being voted into the position by his teammates. He is one of just eight players in program history to serve as a team captain for three seasons.

Off the court, Harris is majoring in communication with a minor in entrepreneurship and social enterprise. He was named Academic All-ACC in 2009-10 and has been listed on the ACC Honor Roll.

Harris is the second Demon Deacon to be named a candidate since the Senior CLASS Award was created in 2001. Kyle Visser was a candidate during the 2006-07 season.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring.

2012-13 Senior CLASS Award Candidates
God'sgift Achiuwa, St. John's (N.Y.)
O.D. Anosike, Siena
Ben Averkamp, Loyola (Chicago)
Brian Barbour, Columbia
Jared Berggren, Wisconsin
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Drew Crawford, Northwestern
Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary's
Tim Frazier, Penn State
Mike Groselle, The Citadel
C.J. Harris, Wake Forest
Jordan Hulls, Indiana
Gabe Knutson, Lehigh
JP Kuhlman, Davidson
Andrew Lawrence, Charleston
Jonathan Lee, Northeastern
Scott Martin, Notre Dame
C.J. McCollum, Lehigh
Brock Motum, Washington State
Mike Muscala, Bucknell
Robert Olson, Loyola (Maryland)
Brandon Paul, Illinois
Mason Plumlee, Duke
Colt Ryan, Evansville
Peyton Siva, Louisville
Andrew Smith, Butler
Michael Snaer, Florida State
Marc Trasolini, Santa Clara
Jeff Withey, Kansas
Nate Wolters, South Dakota State



Tennis Champions