Rosters Set for Saturday Spring Game
April 6, 2018

By Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@WakeFB)

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. - Saturday’s annual Wake Forest Spring Game will kick off at 3 pm at BB&T Field featuring the Black team vs. the Gold team. Head coach Dave Clawson chose a pair of “general managers” to draft the two squads. Senior safety Cameron Glenn and center Ryan Anderson drafted the Black team while wide receiver Alex Bachman and defensive tackle Zeek Rodney drafted the Gold team.

The Black squad will include quarterback Kendall Hinton and running backs Matt Colburn II, Cade Carney and Will Drawdy. Hinton will have Thomas Cole and freshman Blake Whiteheart as tight end targets with Waydale Jones, Steven Claude, Scotty Washington, Greg Dortch and Ian Driscoll as the wide receivers. Tayvon Bowers and Matthew Considine will back-up Hinton.



The Black team has returning starters Justin Herron and Ryan Anderson along the offensive line along with Allan Rappleyea, Nathan Gilliam, Taleni Suhren, Sean Maginn and freshman Michael Jurgens.

The Gold team will be quarterbacked by Jamie Newman and backed up by freshman Sam Hartman. The Gold rushing attack will feature redshirt freshman Christian Beal and Trey Ndlovu. Brandon Chapman, Jack Freudenthal and Jaren Lubrano will see action at tight end. The Gold team has three returning starters on its offensive line including tackle Jake Benzinger and guards Phil Haynes and Patrick Osterhage. Je’Vionte’ Nash, Goran Jovanovic, Loic Nya and Zach Tom will see action up front.

Newman will be throwing to a receiving corps of Bachman, Jaquarii Roberson, Sage Surratt, Davis Johnson and James Sriraman.

The Black defense will include linemen LaRonde’ Liverpool, Elontae Bateman, Sulaiman Kamara, and Chris Calhoun. Linebackers include DJ Taylor and Jake Simpson while the secondary features Amari Henderson, Keegan Good, Ja’Sir Taylor, Chuck Wade, Jr., Glenn, Tyriq Hardimon and Traveon Redd.

Carlos Basham, Jr. and Rodney will key the Gold defensive front alongside Tyler Williams and Manny Walker. The Gold linebacking corps includes Nate Mays and Justin Strnad. In the secondary will be Malik Grate, DeAndre’ Delaney, Essang Bassey, Coby Davis, Luke Masterson and freshman Nasir Greer along with Justin Bartee.

Freshman Nick Sciba and junior Ben Brown will kick for the Black team while Zach Murphy will handle all kicking chores for the Gold.

Former Deacon quarterback Mike McGlamry will be the guest coach of the Black team. McGlamry started 32 games for the Deacons from 1974-77 and is currently an attorney in Atlanta.

The Gold team will be coached by John Bryant, a former safety and special teams captain for the Demon Deacons in 1974-75. Bryant is currently an attorney in Raleigh.

Over Clawson’s first four spring games, the Black team has won three straight since a 31-12 Gold victory in 2014. Last year’s game, played under a different scoring system, resulted in a 43-24 Black win. The Black team posted a 21-3 victory in 2016 and a 17-0 victory in 2015.

There will be no live video stream of the contest which will be held at BB&T Field regardless of weather conditions.

Women's Football Camp