Whitlock Named Bednarik Award Semifinalist
Nikita Whitlock

Oct. 29, 2013

by Steve Shutt, Wake Forest Athletic Communications

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. - Wake Forest senior nose tackle Nikita Whitlock (Wylie, TX/Wylie) has been named as one of 16 semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award given annually to the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year in college football.

The announcement of the semifinalists for the Bednarik Award as well as the Maxwell Award was made Tuesday morning by Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski.

Whitlock, a 5-11, 250-pound senior, has 52 tackles this season and leads the team with 13.5 tackles for loss and 7.0 sacks. His 13.5 tackles for loss is tied for the third-most in the Football Bowl Subdivision this season. Whitlock is seventh in the country in TFL per game with 1.7. His 7.0 sacks are the 11th-most in the country.

Whitlock is joined on the list of semifinalists by four other ACC players including defensive end Vic Beasley of Clemson, Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald, Virginia Tech cornerback Kyle Fuller and Florida State corner Lamarcus Joyner.

The winners of the 77th Maxwell Award and the 19th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be broadcast on ESPN on December 12, 2013. Three finalists for each award will be announced on November 25, 2013 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner on Friday, February 28, 2014 in Atlantic City, New Jersey. Semifinalist voting for both of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Wednesday, October 30th and close on Sunday November 24th. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.



NCAA Tennis Gear