Ryan Janvion Earns National Football Foundation Postgraduate Scholarship
Nov. 1, 2016

By Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@WakeFB)

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. -- Wake Forest senior safety Ryan Janvion has been named one of 12 finalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy awarded by the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame. The Campbell Trophy recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation.

Each of the 12 finalists will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, presented by Fidelity Investments. The finalists will travel to New York City for the 59th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 6, where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. At the event, one member of the class will be declared the winner of the 27th William V. Campbell Trophy and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

Janvion, a Miami, Fla. native and graduate of Dade Christian High School, is the very first Demon Deacon football player to be named as a finalist for the Campbell Trophy.

A two-time CoSIDA Academic All-District selection, Janvion is a four-year starter for the Deacons who led the team in tackles in both 2013 and 2014. He has amassed 322 career tackles and is tied for 11th in school history in career tackles.

Off the field, Janvion is a four-year member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, and he plays the saxophone for the Athletes-in-Action Worship Team. He serves as a board member for the Santas' Helper initiative; participated in "Brenner Deacs" at Brenner Children's Hospital; and greeted guests at the Wake Baptist Health Fair. Janvion has volunteered with Habitat for Humanity and Project H.O.P.E. (Help Our People Eat). He assisted at a football camp for kids with autism, and he was featured in a public service announcement for the United Way.



The Campbell Trophy is named in honor of the late Bill Campbell, the former chairman of Intuit, a former player and head coach at Columbia University, and the 2004 recipient of the NFF's Gold Medal, who passed away this year on April 18. A total distribution of $223,000 in scholarships will be awarded Dec. 6, pushing the program's all-time distributions to more than $11.1 million.

Launched in 1959, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete program became the first initiative in history to award scholar-athletes postgraduate scholarships for their combined athletic, academic and leadership abilities. Including the 2016 recipients, the NFF has honored 828 individuals with National Scholar-Athlete Awards. The honorees have used the financial support to earn more than 150 medical degrees, 100 law degrees, 80 MBAs and 43 PhDs. A total of 175 recipients have played in the NFL with an average career of six seasons. Past recipients also include 13 Rhodes Scholars.

Among the former recipients are NFL quarterback Drew Brees (Purdue), actor Mark Harmon (UCLA), former NFL quarterback Steve Young (BYU), NASA astronauts Michael Hopkins (Illinois) and Leland Melvin (Richmond) and 34 College Football Hall of Famers.

NCAA Tennis Central