Demon Deacons Earn 12 All-ACC Honors
Nov. 27, 2017

By Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@WakeFB)

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. -- Wake Forest had eight players selected to the All-ACC teams as announced by the ACC on Monday afternoon.

A total of 12 Deacons received All-ACC honors including eight on the first, second and third teams.

Tight end Cam Serigne earned first team honors at tight end.

Wake Forest landed four players on the second team offense including quarterback John Wolford, center Ryan Anderson, placekicker Mike Weaver and all-purpose back Greg Dortch.

Defensive end Duke Ejiofor was a second team defense selection while offensive linemen Justin Herron and Phil Haynes were third team offense picks.

Honorable mention picks included cornerback Essang Bassey, safety Jessie Bates III, punter Dom Maggio and Dortch as a return specialist.

Serigne had 35 catches for 444 yards and eight touchdowns this season. He is the school and ACC career leader in receptions and receiving yards by a tight end.



Anderson was a key ingredient in Wake Forest's much-improved offensive line that set a school record for total offense yards in 2017 with 5,402.

Wolford is the first Wake Forest quarterback to earn first or second team honors since Riley Skinner was a second team choice in 2006. Wolford leads the ACC in passing efficiency with a 157.5 rating and tied for the league lead with 25 touchdown passes. He set school season records for total offense yards and total touchdowns with 35.

Dortch had an outstanding freshman season until suffering a season-ending injury against Louisville in Week 8. He missed the final four games of the regular season but at the time of his injury he led all freshmen in the nation in touchdown receptions, receiving yards and receptions. Dortch was the only freshman in the country to catch four touchdown passes in a game in 2017.

Left guard Phil Haynes and left tackle Justin Herron were both third team All-ACC picks. The duo was instrumental in Wake Forest cutting sacks by 57 percent over 2016 and becoming the first Wake Forest offense in school history to rush for 2,000 yards and pass for 3,000 yards in a season.

This marks the first time since 2002 that the Deacons have had three offensive linemen honored. That year, guard Blake Henry was a first team pick while guard Tyson Clabo and tackle Mark Moroz were honorable mention choices.

Ejiofor finished the regular season fourth in the ACC in tackles for loss with 14.5. He is third in school history with 23.5 career sacks and helped Wake Forest finish the regular season seventh in the nation with a school record 98 tackles for loss.

Weaver, a first team All-ACC pick in 2016, completed another stellar year, connecting on 19 of 22 field goal attempts. Weaver ranks second in school history with 314 points. His current field goal accuracy rate of 79.1 percent is on target to break the school record of 76.3 percent.

Bassey is tied for the team lead with three interceptions this season including a pair of end zone interceptions. He was twice named ACC Defensive Back of the Week during the regular season.

Bates collected 72 tackles, an interception and five pass break-ups despite missing two games during the regular season. He was a second team All-ACC pick last year.

Maggio finished fifth in the ACC in punting average at 43.9. For the second year in a row, he recorded the longest punt in the ACC, this year a 74-yard effort against Duke on Nov. 25. Maggio was third in the ACC with 18 punts of 50 or more yards.

Dortch was Wake Forest's primary punt and kickoff return specialist until his injury. His 162 punt return yards were the most by a Deacon since 2007.

Women's Football Camp