Webb Simpson Wins The US Open
Simpson is the third Demon Deacon to win the US Open

June 17, 2012

By Gary Petit (@GaryWFU), Wake Forest Media Relations

SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. - Webb Simpson carded a pair of 2-under 68s over the weekend at the US Open at the Olympic Club to secure his first major championship.

Simpson started the weekend in a tie for 29th at 5-over par but stayed steady on Saturday en route to a 68 and jumped into a tie for 8th at 3-over par. He started the final round four-shots behind Jim Furyk and despite a slow start, three-straight birdies at the end of the opening nine thrust Simpson right back into the mix.

Simpson then birdied the par-4 10th to get to 2-under for the day and 1-over for the tournament. He continued to hit the ball close the entire back nine but just couldn't get a putt to drop. On the par-4 18th, Simpson missed his approach right of the green. Faced with a difficult lie, Simpson skillfully chipped to within three-feet and knocked home the par putt to grab the clubhouse lead at 1-over par. In all, Simpson played the final 13 holes at 4-under par.

He then sat and waited as Furyk and Graeme McDowell had four holes left to play. Both came to the 18th hole one shot behind Simpson but neither was able to make birdie and match Simpson.

"I'm so happy for Webb," said Wake Forest head coach Jerry Haas. "His swing looks great and he looked so composed down the stretch. If you want to sum him up, how about that up-and-down at the last hole? That's a perfect example of what it takes to win at that level. He's got a great short game. I'm so proud of him. He's a great young man and a great ambassador for Wake Forest."

The victory is the first major championship for Simpson and the third victory of his career. He also won the Wyndham Championship and the Deutsche Bank Championship at the end of last year. He is also the third Demon Deacon to win the US Open as Curtis Strange won back-to-back titles in 1988 and 1989 while Arnold Palmer won the 1960 US Open.

ACC Men's Golf Notes

  • Webb Simpson wins the 2012 US Open, joining Arnold Palmer (1) & Curtis Strange (2) as former Deacons to win the US Open. This is the 11th time the US Open has been won by a former player from a current ACC School - first since Lucas Glover (Clemson) did so in 2009.
  • 8th time on the 2012 PGA TOUR that the winner played at an ACC school - two times more than any other NCAA conference.
  • Simpson's first win in a Major.
  • Simpson becomes the 4th different Demon Deacon to win a Major for a total 11th time.
    This is ACC schools' 15th different Major winner for a total 32nd time.



Women's Football Camp