Marcus Tracy Wins M.A.C. Hermann Trophy

Jan. 9, 2009

ST. LOUIS, Mo. - Wake Forest senior forward Marcus Tracy capped one of the most decorated careers in school history on Friday night by being named the winner of the 2008 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy, the top individual honor in college soccer.

"I am extremely honored and humbled to know that a contingent of Division I coaches have named me as the top player in college soccer for the 2008 season," Tracy said. "Individual recognition seldom comes without exceptional team success, so I can't thank my teammates and coaches enough; without them, claiming this award would have been highly unlikely. It was an absolute privilege to have represented Wake Forest University over my four year career and I wish the program and my teammates nothing but success in the years ahead."

Joining Tracy as finalists for the Hermann Trophy were fellow teammate Sam Cronin, the winner of the 2008 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award and Akron's Steve Zakuani. Cronin and Tracy were just the fourth pair of teammates to be named finalists for the award in the same year.

"What an honor to have two finalists for the Hermann Trophy," Wake Forest head coach Jay Vidovich said. "I think it shows the type of players and people we have at Wake Forest. I'm ecstatic for Marcus. For him to achieve this award is an unbelievable tribute to what he's done during his college career."

With the award, Tracy joins an exclusive group of college soccer players that have won the award. Past winners include John Harkes (1987), Claudio Reyna (1992 and 1993) and 2007 winner O'Brian White of Connecticut. Tracy is the first Wake Forest player to win the award.

The M.A.C. Hermann Trophy honors the top male and female Division I college soccer players in the country. The award is college soccer's version of the Heisman Trophy and represents the highest level of achievement in the sport. Tracy was selected as the winner by a vote of college coaches that are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.



A native of Newtown, Conn., Tracy closed his career with the best season of his career during his senior campaign. A 2008 All-ACC First Team selection, Tracy finished the year with 13 goals and 10 assists, becoming one of just two players in college soccer to finish the year with double-digit totals in goals and assists. Tracy was recognized for his outstanding senior year by being named a consensus first team All-American, earning accolades from Top Drawer Soccer, the NSCAA, Soccer America and College Soccer News.

Tracy finished his career with 30 goals, 23 assists and 83 points in 77 games played. He leaves Wake Forest ranked in the top 10 in school history in points (6th, 83), goals scored (6th, 30) and assists (8th, 23). During his career, the Demon Deacons advanced to three straight College Cups and captured the first national championship in program history in 2007. Over his four years, Wake Forest compiled a 74-15-9 record, winning 80 percent of its matches.

Cronin also enjoyed a stellar senior season, finishing the year with 10 goals, four assists and 24 points. The Winston-Salem native was named the winner of the 2008 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award and also was recognized as a first team All-American by the NSCAA, College Soccer News and Soccer America. Cronin leaves Wake Forest as the school's all-time leader in games played and games started with 98.

Hermann Trophy Winners
2008 - Marcus Tracy, Wake Forest
2007 - O'Brian White, Connecticut
2006 - Joseph Lapira, Notre Dame
2005 - Jason Garey, Maryland
2004 - Danny O'Rourke, Indiana
2003 - Chris Wingert, St. John's
2002 - Alecko Eskandarian, Virginia
2001 - Luchi Gonzalez, SMU
2000 - Ali Curtis, Duke
1999 - Sasha Victorine, UCLA
1998 - Jay Heaps, Duke
1997 - Johnny Torres, Creighton
1996 - Mike Fisher, Virginia
1995 - Matt McKeon, St. Louis
1994 - Todd Yeagley, Indiana
1993 - Claudio Reyna, Virginia
1992 - Claudio Reyna, Virginia
1991 - Alexi Lalas, Rutgers
1990 - Ken Snow, Indiana
1989 - Tony Meola, Virginia
1988 - Ken Snow, Indiana
1987 - John Harkes, Virginia
1986 - John Kerr, Duke

Baseball Games