Watts Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List
Jared Watts is a two-time First Team All-ACC selection

Aug 20, 2013

VIDEO: NSCAA Announcement of MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

By Steven Wright, Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@WakeMSoccer)

KANSAS CITY, Kan. - Wake Forest senior midfielder Jared Watts has been named to the 2013 Missouri Athletic Club's (MAC) Hermann Trophy Watch List, as announced by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) on Tuesday afternoon.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in college soccer presented annually to one male and one female athlete. The winners will be announced Friday, January 10, 2014 at the trophy presentation banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Watts, a native of Statesville, N.C., is one of just 34 players to be selected to the watch list. In addition, he is the only midfielder from the Atlantic Coast Conference on the list and is one of just four players from the ACC on the list.

The other ACC players that share a spot on the watch list include Maryland forward Patrick Mullins, Duke defender Sebastien Ibeagha and North Carolina defender Boyd Okwuonu.

Watts will look to join Marcus Tracy as the only Demon Deacons to ever win the MAC Hermann Trophy. Tracy won the award in 2008 after guiding the Deacs to their third of four straight trips to the College Cup.

Watts had an immediate impact on the Wake Forest program from the time he stepped on campus as a freshman during the 2010 season. He was named to the All-ACC Freshman Team that year and has since followed that up by being named First Team All-ACC in each of the last two seasons.

In his three seasons at Wake Forest, Watts has played in 55 games and has made 52 starts. Playing primarily in a defensive midfield position, Watts has scored three goals and dished out six assists in his career. His best offensive season came as a junior last year when he scored twice and recorded four assists.



Wake Forest has had a long line of players in the running to win the MAC Hermann Trophy. Watts is now the 12th Deacon who has at least been named to the watch list since 2002. Tracy, who won the award, Corben Bone (2009), Sam Cronin (2008) and Brian Carroll (2002) were all finalists. In addition, Ike Opara (2009), Cody Arnoux (2008), Julian Valentin (2007), Justin Moose (2005), William Hesmer (2003) and Jeremiah White (2003) were all semifinalists, while Watts and Michael Parkhurst (2004) were both named to the watch list.

Near the end of the collegiate regular season, NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA members will vote on their top choices and the lists will be narrowed down to the top 15. College soccer fans will also have the opportunity to participate in the selection process, as they will be able to vote for their favorite semifinalist starting in November at the MAC Hermann Trophy website.

From that pool of 15, three men will be chosen as finalists for the award.

NCAA Tennis Gear