Bakero Picked as Senior CLASS Award Finalist
Oct. 12, 2017

Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@WakeMSoccer)

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Wake Forest captain Jon Bakero was named a finalist for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award, the organization announced on Thursday.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of NCAA Division I senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition.

Bakero is one of 10 finalists nationally and one of two selections from the ACC, joined by Louisville's Tim Kubel.

Demon Deacons have claimed the award twice before; Jacori Hayes earned the honor in 2016 and Sam Cronin received it in 2008. Last year, the Deacs also had two candidates in Hayes and Ian Harkes.

A forward, Bakero has steadily been climbing the Wake Forest record books. He ranks tied for sixth all-time with 84 points, tied for seventh with 30 goals and tied for sixth with 24 assists.

This year, Bakero leads all of NCAA Division I with 30 points and 12 assists, also ranking sixth with nine goals.

From the original list of 30 candidates which included Deacon defender Kevin Politz, a committee selected 10 finalists for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award. Those 10 names have been placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote. Fan balloting (available by clicking here) will be coupled with votes from coaches and media to determine the recipient of the award. Fans can vote once per day.



Men's Soccer Finalists
Jon Bakero, Wake Forest

Fraser Colmer, Radford
Jimmy Fiscus, Michigan State
Mamadou Guirassy, NJIT
Tomas Hilliard-Arce, Stanford
Niki Jackson, Grand Canyon
Tim Kubel, Louisville
Foster Langsdorf, Stanford
Grant Lillard, Indiana
Wyatt Omsberg, Dartmouth