Deacs Claim Three ACC Yearly Honors
Nov. 7, 2017

Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@WakeMSoccer)

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Top-ranked Wake Forest claimed three of the five ACC Men's Soccer annual awards and eight total Demon Deacons were honored on Tuesday.

Jon Bakero was named the Offensive Player of the Year, Kevin Politz was named the Defensive Player of the Year and Bobby Muuss became the first coach in league history to be named Coach of the Year for the third-straight season.

Bakero was joined on the All-ACC first team by midfielder Ema Twumasi. Politz was a second-team honoree, while Luis Argudo and Brad Dunwell were picked as third team All-ACC selections.

Rookies Omir Fernandez and Brandon Servania were chosen as members of the All-Freshman Team.

After becoming the first coach to ever win the award in his first two seasons at the helm in 2016, Muuss collects his third-straight Coach of the Year honor in 2017. He has guided the Demon Deacons to an incredible 52-7-6 in his first three seasons, including an 18-1-5 mark in ACC play. Wake Forest has won three-straight ACC Atlantic Division Championships under Muuss, as well as the 2016 College Cup final, 2016 ACC Tournament Title and 2015 Elite Eight.

"The ACC is hands down the best soccer conference in America. To be honored by the incredible coaches of this great conference is an incredible feeling and I am humbled by it," Muuss said. "This award is far more then me for sure, I am blessed each day to work with some of the hardest workers and most loyal staff in the country. I can't put into words what Steve Armas, Dane Brenner and Matt Poplawski mean to me and this program. They are more deserving of this award then anyone. This year's leaders and our players have been incredible along with the best support staff in the country. Michael White, Dave Bass, Brooke Taylor, Jay Garneau, Chris Williams, Roxann Moody and the incredible administration we have here at Wake Forest do so much behind the scenes. This award is for this incredible staff and players that I get the pleasure of working with each and everyday day. I also want to thank my wife and kids for their never-wavering love and support."



A senior captain, Bakero has been the most dominant offensive force in the ACC this year. He leads the conference with 13 goals and with 39 points, is well ahead of the next-closest (28) in the league. He leads the nation in points and ranks second with 13 assists, a number that also ranks atop the ACC. He has paced the top offense in the nation as Wake Forest leads the country with 53 goals.

"Without a doubt, Jon is the top offensive player in the entire NCAA this year," Muuss added. "He makes our offense go and can beat you in so many different ways. Not only is he an elite goal-scorer, but he has become a great facilitator and opens things up for the rest of the team."

Politz has anchored the premiere defense in the ACC. A senior captain and center back, Politz leads a back line which leads the ACC with a 0.54 goals-against average and 10 shutouts. Wake Forest has only surrendered 35 shots on goal all season, less than two per game and more than 10 better than any other program. Politz has also gotten into the attack, taking nine shots and scoring the game-winning goal against then-No. 12 Providence.

"Kevin has deserved this award each of the last three seasons and we're elated that he was finally rewarded in his senior season," Muuss said. "He is such a steady defender and a huge reason why we have 40 shutouts in his four years."

Twumasi earns the first team honor after being named to the All-Freshman Team in 2016. He has been an offensive force for the Deacs, ranking second on the team with 10 goals and 25 points, marks that put him in the top 40 nationally.

Dunwell receives an All-ACC nod for the second-straight season. One of the top holding midfielders in the country, Dunwell, a junior, has started all 65 games since stepping foot on campus in 2015. This year, the MAC Hermann Trophy watch list member has four assists for a total of 12 in his career.

Argudo, another senior, earns his first All-ACC honor this year. After totaling just one goal and six points a season ago, he has more than tripled those outputs this year. A starter in every game, Argudo has racked up eight goals, six assists and 22 points out of the midfield.

Fernandez has been one of Wake Forest's top sparkplugs off the bench. The freshman ranks fourth on the team with five goals and 15 points, also totaling five assists. He has played in every game and also notched a game-winner.

Servania ranks fourth in the nation with 11 assists, also adding two goals for 15 total points. The midfielder scored the game-winner in his collegiate debut over Rutgers, and is tied for fourth on the team in points despite missing two games to travel with the U.S. U-18 National Team last month.

Wake Forest is back in action on Wednesday, playing host to ninth-ranked Clemson in the ACC Tournament Semifinals.

2017 ACC Men’s Soccer Individual Awards
Coach of the Year – Bobby Muuss, Wake Forest
Offensive Player of the Year – Jon Bakero, Sr., F, Wake Forest

Midfielder of the Year – Cam Lindley, So., M, North Carolina
Defensive Player of the Year – Kevin Politz, Sr., D, Wake Forest
Freshman of the Year – Manny Perez, Fr., M, NC State

2017 All-ACC Men’s Soccer Teams

First Team
Diego Campos, Sr., F, Clemson
Oliver Shannon, Sr., M, Clemson
Tim Kubel, Sr., D, Louisville
Cam Lindley, So., M, North Carolina
Alan Winn, Sr., F, North Carolina
Jon Gallagher, Sr., F, Notre Dame
Jean-Christophe Koffi, Jr., M, Virginia
Marcelo Acuna, Sr., F, Virginia Tech
Ben Lundgaard, Sr., GK, Virginia Tech
Jon Bakero, Sr., F, Wake Forest
Ema Twumasi, So., M, Wake Forest

Second Team
Brian White, Sr., F, Duke
Tate Schmitt, Jr., M, Louisville
Mohamed Thiaw, Sr., F, Louisville
Zach Wright, Sr., F, North Carolina
Manny Perez, Fr., M, NC State
Javi Perez, Jr., M, Pitt
Mo Adams, So., M, Syracuse
Pablo Aguilar, Sr., F, Virginia
Jeff Caldwell, Sr., GK, Virginia
Edward Opoku, Jr., F, Virginia
Kevin Politz, Sr., D, Wake Forest

Third Team
Markus Fjortoft, Gr., D, Duke
Carter Manley, Sr., D, Duke
Will Pulisic, Fr., GK, Duke
Alex Comsia, Jr., D, North Carolina
Mauricio Pineda, So., M, North Carolina
Jeffrey Farina, Sr., F, Notre Dame
Pol Planellas, Sr., M, Pitt
Tajon Buchanan, Fr., F, Syracuse
Sergi Nus, Jr., D, Virginia
Luis Argudo, Sr., M, Wake Forest
Brad Dunwell, Jr., M, Wake Forest

All-Freshman Team
Robbie Robinson, Fr., F, Clemson
Will Pulisic, Fr., GK, Duke
John Nelson, Fr., D, North Carolina
David Loera, Fr., M, NC State
Manny Perez, Fr., M, NC State
Alexander Dexter, Fr., F, Pitt
Edward Kizza, Fr., F, Pitt
Tajon Buchanan, Fr., F, Syracuse
Joe Bell, Fr., M, Virginia
Omir Fernandez, Fr., M, Wake Forest
Brandon Servania, Fr., M, Wake Forest

NCAA Tennis Gear