Wake Forest Earns Overall No. 1-Seed in NCAA Tourney
Brad Dunwell
Nov. 16, 2015

Interactive Bracket

By Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@WakeMSoccer)

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. -- Wake Forest men's soccer has earned the overall No. 1-seed in the 2015 NCAA Championship, as announced by the NCAA Monday afternoon in the Men's Soccer Selection Show.

With a first-round bye in tow, Wake Forest will take on the winner of a first-round matchup between Charlotte and Radford. That first-round contest is scheduled for Thursday, Nov. 19, in Charlotte, North Carolina. The second-round contest between Wake Forest and the winner of Charlotte/Radford will be on Sunday, Nov. 22, at Spry Stadium. Game time is set for 1 p.m. Ticket information will be released at a later date.

As the No. 1-seed, Wake Forest has now earned the top seed in the tournament for the fourth time in program history, the last No. 1-seed coming in 2008. The seed also marks the 13th time in the last 21 years an ACC team has earned the top seed. All-time as the No. 1-overall team, Wake Forest is 5-2-1 in eight games. The Deacs won the national championship in 2007 as the No. 2-seed.

All-time, the Demon Deacons are 21-14-4 in the NCAA Championship and are making their 13th NCAA appearance in the last 14 years and 19th overall. Last year, Wake Forest fell in penalty kicks 3-2 to UMBC at Spry Stadium in the second round of the tournament.

As a conference, the ACC has seven teams in the NCAA Championship with five of them earning national seeds in No. 1 Wake Forest, No. 2 Clemson, No. 5 North Carolina, No. 6 Syracuse and No. 7 Notre Dame. With the seven teams in, it marks the third-straight year the ACC has had the most teams of any conference in the field.

Wake Forest enters the tournament with ample rest after falling in the ACC Semifinals last Wednesday, Nov. 11, to Notre Dame. Overall, the Deacs are 15-2-2 this season and hold a record of 8-2-2 against teams in the top 30 of the NCAA RPI. In those 12 games, the Demon Deacons have outscored their opponents 23-11. This season, Wake Forest completed just the third undefeated ACC season in program history at 6-0-2 and has scored 45 goals on the year while only giving up 11. Freshman midfielder Jack Harrison became the first player in ACC history to earn Offensive Player and Freshman of the Year in the same season last week while head coach Bobby Muuss was named Coach of the Year in his first year at the helm of the Demon Deacons. Overall, the Deacs had six players named All-ACC performers with three - Ian Harkes, Jacori Hayes and Jack Harrison - earning First Team All-ACC.



The NCAA Championship is made up of 24 automatic bid teams that won their respective conference tournament championship, or if the conference doesn't have a tournament, the auto-bid team won the regular season championship. The 48-team field is filled out by 24 more at-large bids. Overall, Wake Forest played four of the automatic bid teams during the regular season and took on a fifth in Furman during preseason. While tying Furman 1-1 in the first exhibition of the year, Wake Forest won when it counted in beating all four of the conference champions it played this season in beating Syracuse (ACC), Akron (MAC), FIU (C-USA) and Santa Clara (WCC).
football tix