Coaches Pick Bakero as MAC Hermann Trophy Finalist
Dec. 8, 2017

Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@WakeMSoccer)

ST. LOUIS -- Wake Forest senior Jon Bakero was named one of three finalists for the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy, given to the top player in college soccer.

Bakero leads the nation with 46 points - eight more than any other student-athlete. He ranks second with 16 goals, 14 assists and six game-winning goals. He is the first player in NCAA Division I with at least 16 goals and 14 assists in a season since Coastal Carolina's Joseph Ngwenya in 2003.

Based on voting by NCAA Division I soccer coaches, this year's winner will be announced on January 5, 2018 in conjunction with the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Banquet at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

The forward from Sitges, Spain is the only finalist from the ACC, joined by Stanford defender Tomas Hilliard-Arce and Indiana defender Grant Lillard.

The ACC Offensive Player of the Year, Bakero ranks in the top five in program history in single season and career goals, assists and points. In addition to his six game-winning goals this year, he has also assisted on seven others.

"Jon Bakero is the best player in college soccer," head coach Bobby Muuss said. "Not only has he had the best season of anyone in the nation, but he also makes the players around him so much better. Jon has been a joy to coach and to watch, and I can't wait to see what his future holds."

Wake Forest is looking to claim the MAC Hermann Trophy for the second-straight year after Ian Harkes won the award a season ago. Marcus Tracy also earned the honor for the Demon Deacons in 2008.



Bakero has also claimed the Senior CLASS Award, as well as being named a first team All-American by United Soccer Coaches.

The Deacs finished the season with a 19-2-2 record, winning the ACC Atlantic Division and ACC Championship for the second-straight year, reaching the NCAA quarterfinals.

MAC Hermann Trophy Finalists
Jon Bakero, Wake Forest
Tomas Hilliard-Arce, Stanford
Grant Lillard, Indiana

Women's Football Camp