Deacons Dominate Furman, Charlotte in 2012 Openers
Freshman Alex Tsai went 4-0 in singles and doubles in his first matches as a Demon Deacon

Jan. 15, 2012


WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. - The Tony Bresky era at Wake Forest got off to a perfect start as the Demon Deacon men's tennis team defeated Furman and Charlotte to kick off the 2012 season on Sunday at the Wake Forest Indoor Tennis Center. In his first dual matches as head coach, Bresky led the Deacons to a 7-0 victory over the Paladins in the first match of the day and a 6-1 win over the 49ers in the nightcap.

Five Deacons put forth perfect 4-0 days in singles and doubles, including freshman Alex Tsai, who was making his first appearance in a Wake Forest uniform after joining the team in January.

The Deacs started the day with a dominant performance in doubles against Furman. Danny Kreyman and Adam Lee easily dispatched Joel Cook and Nate Collins 8-3 at the No. 2 position. David Hopkins and Amogh Prabhakar clinched the point at No. 1, taking down Jacob Behal and Andrew Mellow 8-4. Conner Sherwood and Tsai completed the sweep at No. 3, knocking off Tyler Droll and Watson George 8-3.

Wake Forest kept the momentum rolling into singles. No. 115 Kreyman quickly defeated Mellow 6-1, 6-2 and Hopkins topped Cook 6-4, 6-1 to put the Demon Deacons ahead 3-0. Tsai, a freshman, earned the clinching point in his first-ever collegiate match at the No. 6 position, dispatching Sven Ivankovic 6-1, 6-4.

At No. 5 singles, Sherwood battled through a tight first set to defeat Droll 7-5, 6-3. Prabhakar dominated the third set against Behal at No. 3 to earn a 6-3, 4-6, 6-2 victory. At No. 4, Lee rallied from a 5-2 deficit in the second set and saved three match points in the tiebreak to defeat Robbie Aru 7-5, 7-6 (9).



Against Charlotte, all three Wake Forest doubles teams notched 8-3 wins over their 49er opponents to give the Deacs another doubles sweep. Hopkins and Prabhakar topped Alex Calott and Jack Williams at No. 1, Kreyman and Lee downed Paul Cisti and Anthony Davison, and Sherwood and Tsai defeated Krzysztof Kwaniewicz and Alex Weber at No. 3.

In singles, Lee cruised to a 6-0, 6-2 win over Nate Shanok at No. 5 to put the Deacons ahead 2-0, and Kreyman extended the lead to 3-0 with a 6-3, 6-2 victory over Calott. Hopkins provided the clinching point at No. 1, beating Williams 6-2, 6-2.

Prabhakar was next off of the court, defeating Cisti 6-2, 6-1, and Tsai earned the Deacons' sixth point with a 7-5, 6-2 victory over Weber. In the final match on court, Sherwood fell to Davison 7-6 (2), 6-2.

The Demon Deacons will hit the road for the first time next weekend when they take on UCF in Orlando, Fla. on January 22 at 11 a.m.

#41 Wake Forest 7, Furman 0

1. #115 Danny Kreyman (WF) def. Andrew Mellow (FUR) 6-1, 6-2
2. David Hopkins (WF) def. Joel Cook (FUR) 6-4, 6-1
3. Amogh Prabhakar (WF) def. Jacob Behal (FUR) 6-3, 4-6, 6-2
4. Adam Lee (WF) def. Robbie Aru (FUR) 7-5, 7-6 (11-9)
5. Conner Sherwood (WF) def. Tyler Droll (FUR) 7-5, 6-3
6. Alex Tsai (WF) def. Sven Ivankovic (FUR) 6-1, 6-4

1. David Hopkins/Amogh Prabhakar (WF) def. Jacob Behal/Andrew Mellow (FUR) 8-4
2. Danny Kreyman/Adam Lee (WF) def. Joel Cook/Nate Collins (FUR) 8-3
3. Alex Tsai/Conner Sherwood (WF) def. Tyler Droll/Watson George (FUR) 8-3

Match Notes:
Furman 0-1
Wake Forest 1-0; National ranking #41
Order of finish: Doubles (2,1*,3); Singles (1,2,6*,5,3,4)

#41 Wake Forest 6, Charlotte 1

1. David Hopkins (WF) def. Jack Williams (CHA) 6-2, 6-2
2. #115 Danny Kreyman (WF) def. Alex Calott (CHA) 6-3, 6-2
3. Amogh Prabhakar (WF) def. Paul Cisti (CHA) 6-2, 6-1
4. Anthony Davison (CHA) def. Conner Sherwood (WF) 7-6 (7-2), 6-2
5. Adam Lee (WF) def. Nate Shanok (CHA) 6-0, 6-2
6. Alex Tsai (WF) def. Alex Weber (CHA) 7-5, 6-2

1. David Hopkins/Amogh Prabhakar (WF) def. Alex Calott/Jack Williams (CHA) 8-3
2. Danny Kreyman/Adam Lee (WF) def. Paul Cisti/Anthony Davison (CHA) 8-3
3. Conner Sherwood/Alex Tsai (WF) def. K. Kwasniewicz/Alex Weber (CHA) 8-3

Match Notes:
Charlotte 4-1
Wake Forest 2-0; National ranking #41
Order of finish: Doubles (3,2*,1); Singles (5,2,1*,3,6,4)

Tennis Champions