Wake Forest Finishes Sixth of 36 at Greater Louisville Classic

Sept. 29, 2007

Complete Results

LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Paced by sophomore Jeremy Fisico's 14th-place performance, Wake Forest finished sixth out of 36 teams at the Greater Louisville Classic on Saturday afternoon at E.P. Tom Sawyer State Park.

Fisico ran a 24:25.52 to finish in the top 20 in a field of 310 runners. It was his third straight race with a top-20 performance. Fisico paced eight Demon Deacon competitors on the day, leading Wake as one of the top teams at the meet.

"I'm very happy with my performance. I've been training really hard, and today it paid off," said Fisico. "I think it will be a good stepping stone for the rest of the season. I can definitely run faster, but for this time of the year I'm very pleased with my performance."

Freshman Greg Billington was second for the Deacs in his collegiate debut. Billington posted a top-30 performance by placing 28th overall in a time of 24:44.39.

Sophomore Marcus Dillon, who had led Wake Forest in the first two races of the year, ran a 25:13.07 to place 55th.

Redshirt freshman Patrick Russell was not far behind Dillon, finishing 62nd in 25:20.53.

Senior John Compton rounded out Wake's scoring in 72nd place, finishing with a time of 25:27.82.

Freshman Keaton Morgan, fresh off a team-best finish at the Raleigh Invitational, took 79th place in 25:35.13.

Seniors Chris Catton and Matt Owen finished 149th and 176th respectively. Catton ran a 26:17.08, while Owen turned in a time of 26:33.75.



The Deacons' top five combined for a team score of 214, which was just four points behind Kentucky in fifth place. Wake Forest was 15 points behind fourth-place Tennessee, the 2006 meet champion. Host Louisville handily won this year's meet with 58 points, while Rend Lake College was a distant second with 146.

Eastern Kentucky's Jacob Korir took home the individual title with a time of 23:08.89.

"We finished sixth overall, and on paper you're not going to look at that and be impressed," said Wake Forest assistant coach Matt Kerr. "But we were very competitive amongst schools with fast times on this course. Today's field was very fast and very deep.

"We accomplished what we wanted to do, and we're going to improve from here on. We're excited where we're at, but we still have work to do. Our goal all along has been to move up in the conference and the region, and we did that today. I'm very pleased that we got done what we needed to do."

"I think everyone was pleased with the overall performance of the team today," added Fisico. "The effort was definitely there, which is always important. Some different variables didn't come into play today, but our effort was a huge positive."

The Deacons are off next weekend before returning to action at the Penn State Invitational on Friday, Oct. 12. The race will be Wake Forest's final competition prior to the ACC Championships on Oct. 27 in Charlottesville, Va.

Wake Forest Individual Results
14. Jeremy Fisico, 24:25.52; 28. Greg Billington, 24:44.39; 55. Marcus Dillon, 25:13.07; 62. Patrick Russell, 25:20.53; 72. John Compton, 25:27.82; 79. Keaton Morgan, 25:35.13; 149. Chris Catton, 26:17.08; 176. Matt Owen, 26:33.75.

Team Results
1. Louisville 58, 2. Rend Lake College 146, 3. Eastern Kentucky 169, 4. Tennessee 199, 5. Kentucky 210, 6. Wake Forest 214, 7. East Tennessee State 238, 8. Southern Indiana 250, 9. Edinboro 263, 10. Tennessee-Chattanooga 271, 11. Georgia Tech 318, 12. Lindenwood 348, 13. Dayton 376, 14. Missouri-Rolla 382, 15. Wayne State 389, 16. Georgia State 414, 17. Middle Tennessee State 453, 18. Morehead State 470, 19. DePaul 516, 20. Mississippi 609, 21. Harding 652, 22. Vanderbilt 671, 23. Lindsey Wilson 673, 24. Bryan College 677, 25. Queens University 687, 26. Florida Southern 751, 27. Detroit Mercy 777, 28. Bowling Green 782, 29. Centre College 789, 30. Bellarmine 814, 31. Florida International 822, 32. Runners Market 826, 33. Wright State 836, 34. Western Kentucky 855, 35. South Florida 888, 36. Murray State 1144.

Top Five Individuals
1. Jacob Korir, Eastern Kentucky, 23:08.89; 2. Wesley Korir, Louisville, 23:20.46; 3. Soimo Kiplagat, Louisville, 23:40.97; 4. Daniel Kanyaruhuru, Queens, 23:51.30; 5. Elkanah Kibet, Rend Lake, 23:55.63.

Tennis Champions