Irving Claims Individual Title at Blue Ridge Open
Senior Nate Guthals finished second overall on the 8k course in 24:39.65.

Oct. 12, 2012

Complete Men's ResultsGet Acrobat Reader|Complete Women's ResultsGet Acrobat Reader

By Maggie Cancelosi, Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@SIDeacons)

BOONE, N.C. -Wake Forest junior Nicole Irving captured her first individual title of the season as she finished in a time of 17:28.64 to win the Blue Ridge Open at ASU's Don Kennedy Trails. Irving's time was 14.76 seconds faster than her mark at last year's event where she also secured first place.

The Demon Deacon women finished first overall out of 14 teams with 44 points. The three freshmen women finished in the top fifteen, starting off with Ashley Brubaker who took fifth place with a time of 18:13.15. Next to cross the line was Meredith Kilburn, who ran the 5k course in 18:21.49 to earn seventh place, followed by Kathleen Darling, who ranked 13th with a mark of 18:30.38. Sophomore Aubrey Waggoner submitted a time of 18:44.80 for 20th place.

Rounding out the scoring totals for Wake Forest were juniors Melanie Powers (19:30.68) and Lindsey Kerr (21:15.13), who crossed the line in 49th and 95th places, respectively.

On the men's side, senior Nate Guthals showed his leadership as one of the frontrunners for the Deacs this season, finishing second overall on the 8k course in 24:39.65.

As a team, the Deacs captured first place out of 16 squads with a total of 31 points.

Senior Garret Drogosch finished fourth overall in 24:42.48, an improved time of 12.02 seconds from his performance at last year's Blue Ridge Open.

In his first race of the season, junior Alex Rose took tenth place after crossing the line at 25:00.07. Senior Jake Graham turned in a time of 25:02.06 for 13th place.

A group of Deacons marked top thirty finishes, starting off with freshman Kent Garrett in 22nd place with after clocking a time of 25:11.82. Junior Bill Matthews (25:14.68) and senior Anthony Marois (25:15.01) took spots in 24th and 25th, respectively.

Sophomore Connor Crowley took 30th place (25:17.92), while Tommy Ross, in his first race for the Deacons, finished 38th (25:27.88). James Allen McAlister III ranked in 59th place in 25:53.92, followed by Evan Little in 61st place 25:54.58.

Rounding out the scoring totals on the men's squad was sophomore Brian O'Toole in 79th place (26:19.49), and freshman Ryan Horgan in 86th place (26:31.25).

Friday's race marked the last meet of the regular season for the Deacs, as they will begin post-season action on Oct. 27 with the ACC Championships in Blacksburg, Va.



NCAA Tennis Central