2002 National Champions!!!

Nov. 24, 2002

Postgame Quotes | Championship Photo Gallery | More Photos
Aughinbaugh and Doton Named First Team All-Americans

(Click on image for larger version)

Louisville, Ky. - The Wake Forest field hockey team etched its name into the record books this afternoon, defeating Penn State by a 2-0 score to win the 2002 NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship at the University of Louisville's Trager Stadium.

The Demon Deacons are the first Wake Forest team to win a national championship since men's golf in 1986 and are the first women's team in school history to accomplish such a feat. In addition, the Deacs went through all four rounds of the Championship without giving up a single goal, an achievement matched only by Old Dominion in 1992.

Lynne Shenk, Heather Aughinbaugh and Maria Whitehead hold up the trophy following their 2-0 victory over Penn State.

The Deacons did all of their scoring in the first half. Junior and ACC Player of the Year Kelly Doton opened the scoring in the thirteenth minute, taking a pass from freshman Maeke Boreel and hammering it into the back of the cage to give the Deacons the 1-0 lead. Less than three minutes later, senior Heather Aughinbaugh, playing in the final game of her career, fired a shot that bounced off the post and into the net for the unassisted goal to put the Deacons ahead, 2-0. The Wake Forest defense tightened its grip even more in the second half, allowing just one shot in the period to hang on for the 2-0 victory and the national championship.

Wake Forest outshot Penn State, 12-4 and won the penalty corner battle by an 8-6 margin. Deacon goalkeeper Katie Ridd made four saves in getting her fifth straight shutout, while Nitttany Lion keeper Annie Zinkavich made nine stops.

"Our team motto all season has been not to want to be a champion, but to act like a champion"
Wake Forest head coach Jennifer Averill

Wake Forest head coach Jennifer Averill was proud of her team's hard work. "Our team motto all season has been not to want to be a champion, but to act like a champion," Averill said. "Penn State has such a great squad with such great execution, so we knew what we had in front of us. But one of the most impressive aspects of our team is the power of the mind. It's a quality they've had instilled in them all season and it paid off today."

Five Demon Deacons were named to the NCAA All-Tournament team: Aughinbaugh, sophomore Kelly Dostal, Doton, junior Lucy Shaw and Ridd. The ACC and NCAA Champion Demon Deacons finish the season with a 20-2 record.



NCAA Tennis Gear