Wake Forest Field Hockey Announces Fall Schedule
Head coach Jennifer Averill announced the Demon Deacons' complete fall schedule on Tuesday

March 6, 2012

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. - Head coach Jennifer Averilland the Wake Forest field hockey program announced its official 2012 fall schedule on Tuesday, March 6.

The challenging slate features 18 matches, 13 of them at home, and will include matches against both the 2011 NCAA Champion and runner-up, as well as seven total tilts against 2011 NCAA Tournament teams.

Wake Forest will open the season on August 25 hosting Iowa, an NCAA First Round team a year ago. The 2011 Big Ten regular season champs, Michigan, will also come to Kentner Stadium on August 26 to face the Deacs.

On September 2, WFU will face another NCAA First Round team from 2011 in Princeton as the team continues a season-opening nine match homestand.

Six days later, the Deacs will take on Duke, an ACC rival and 2011 NCAA Quartefinalist before hosting Northwestern and Appalachian State.

The Deacs then continue ACC competition in back-to-back matches on Sept. 16 and 22 against last year's national champion, North Carolina, and followed by the NCAA runner-up in Maryland.

A non-conference home match against Delaware bookends the home stretch as the Deacs will then hit the road for the first time on Sept. 29 for a rematch with UNC.

Five straight non-conference matches will follow before the Deacs close out the season with trips to Virginia and Boston on opposite ends of a home match with California from October 20-27.

Wake Forest loses eight seniors from its 2011 squad, which finished the year 10-9 against a tough schedule and battled back from a 2-8 start to the season. Every loss came against a team that made the 16-team NCAA Tournament field, and of those losses, seven of them came by a single goal.

2012 Wake Forest Schedule

Date Opponent Location Time
Aug. 25 Iowa Winston-Salem, N.C. 2:00 p.m.
Aug. 26 Michigan Winston-Salem, N.C. 11:30 a.m.
Sept. 2 Princeton Winston-Salem, N.C. 1:00 p.m.
Sept. 8 Duke Winston-Salem, N.C. 1:00 p.m.
Sept. 11 Northwestern Winston-Salem, N.C. 4:00 p.m.
Sept. 14 Appalachian State Winston-Salem, N.C. 7:00 p.m.
Sept. 16 North Carolina Winston-Salem, N.C. 1:00 p.m.
Sept. 22 Maryland Winston-Salem, N.C. 1:00 p.m.
Sept. 23 Delaware Winston-Salem, N.C. 1:00 p.m.
Sept. 29 North Carolina Chapel Hill, N.C. 1:00 p.m.
Oct. 3 Ohio Winston-Salem, N.C. 5:00 p.m.
Oct. 9 Davidson Davidson, N.C. 6:00 p.m.
Oct. 12 William & Mary Williamsburg, Va. 6:30 p.m.
Oct. 14 Louisville Winston-Salem, N.C. 12:00 p.m.
Oct. 17 Radford Winston-Salem, N.C. 6:00 p.m.
Oct. 20 Virginia Charlottesville, Va. 1:00 p.m.
Oct. 21 California Winston-Salem, N.C. 2:00 p.m.
Oct. 27 Boston College Chestnut Hill, Mass. 1:00 p.m.
Nov. 2 ACC Tournament TBA TBA
Nov. 10 NCAA Tournament (First Round) TBA TBA
Nov. 17 NCAA Tournament (Final Four) TBA TBA



NCAA Tennis Central