Stengel and Bledsoe Earn All-ACC Honors
Katie Stengel is the first player in program history to earn first team All-ACC honors three times

Nov. 1, 2012

By Alex Botoman, Wake Forest Athletic Communications (@SIDeacons)

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. - Katie Stengel and Aubrey Bledsoe were named to the 2012 All-ACC Women's Soccer Team, as announced by the conference Thursday.

Both juniors, Stengel was named to the All-ACC first team for the third time, and Bledsoe made the second team, giving her All-ACC honors for the second year in a row. Stengel is one of only four three-time All-ACC players in program history and is the only one to earn first team honors three times.

Wake Forest's all-time scoring leader, Stengel leads the Demon Deacons with seven goals and 17 points in 12 games this season. She missed the first eight games of the season while competing as a member of the U.S. team that won the FIFA Under-20 World Cup in Japan.

Bledsoe has recorded seven shutouts this season, tied for third-best in the conference, and holds a 0.78 goals against average. She ranks first in the Wake Forest record books with 24 career shutouts.

Wake Forest finished in a tie for second place in the ACC this season and earned the No. 3 seed in the 2012 ACC Championship, defeating Duke in the quarterfinals last Sunday. The Demon Deacons will take on second-seeded Maryland in the semifinals Friday at 7:30 p.m. at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C. The match will be broadcast on ESPN3.

All-ACC First Team
Morgan Brian, So., Virginia, MF
Amber Brooks, Sr., North Carolina, MF
Crystal Dunn, Jr., North Carolina, D
Ines Jaurena, Sr., Florida State, D
Kassey Kallman, Jr., Florida State, D
Kristen Mewis, Sr., Boston College, MF
Caroline Miller, Sr. Virginia, F
Kealia Ohai, Jr., North Carolina, F
Katie Stengel, Jr., Wake Forest, F
Laura Weinberg, Jr., Duke, F
Kelsey Wys, Jr., Florida State, GK



All-ACC Second Team
Natahsa Anasi, Jr., D, Duke
Aubrey Bledsoe, Jr., GK, Wake Forest
Hayley Brock, Jr., F, Maryland
Dagny Brynjarsdottir, So., MF, Florida State
Kim DeCesare, Jr., F, Duke
Becky Kaplan, Sr., F, Maryland, F
Stephanie McCaffrey, So., F, Boston College
Tiffany McCarty, Sr., F, Florida State, F
Ashley Meier, Fr., MF, Virginia Tech, MF
Cassie Pecht, Fr., MF, Duke, MF
Casey Short, Sr., D, Florida State, D

ACC All-Freshman Team
Makenzy Doniak, Virignia, F
Hannah Gardner, North Carolina, D
Summer Green, North Carolina, F
McKenzie Meehan, Boston College, F
Ashley Meier, Virginia Tech, MF
Jasmine Paterson, Miami, F
Cassie Pecht, Duke, MF
Carson Pickett, Florida State, MF
Isabella Schmid, Florida State, MF
Emily Sonnett, Virginia, D
Ashley Spivey, Maryland, MF

Offensive Player of the Year
Caroline Miller, Sr., F, Virginia

Defensive Player of the Year
Crystal Dunn, Jr., D, North Carolina

Freshman of the Year
Cassie Pecht, Fr., MF, Duke

Coach of the Year
Mark Krikorian, Florida State

NCAA Tennis Central