Wake Forest Sports Hall of Fame

The Wake Forest Sports Hall of Fame was established in 1970 with the induction of former basketball coach Murray Greason, the late Football star Brian Piccolo, former football coach Peahead Walker, and former director of athletics Jim Weaver, who later became the first commissioner of the ACC.

The individuals below were selected by the Hall of Fame Committee, which consists of director of athletics Ron Wellman, senior associate athletic director/senior woman administrator Barbara Walker, faculty athletic chair (and committee chair) Dr. Richard Carmichael, Jim Abernathy, Homer Brookshire Jr., Skip Brown, Ashby Cook, Murray Greason Jr., Roper Halverson, Brian Heelan, Gene Hooks, Jane Jackson, Chris King, Heinz Little, Zeno Martin, Tom Mills, Roxann Moody, Dick Myers, Jody Puckett, David Stroupe, Ben Sutton, Carl Tucker and Ed Wilson.

Anyone can nominate a person to the Hall of Fame. Eligibility for Hall of Fame members is defined by 10 criteria, which include being out of school for 10 years (or deceased); receiving national recognition as an athlete, Coach or administrator; being of good character and reputation; and having no stronger connection with another university.

Send nominations to: Steve Shutt, Associate Athletic Director/Athletic Communications, Wake Forest University, 519 Deacon Blvd., Winston-Salem, NC 27105

For more information on Hall of Fame inductees, click their induction year below.

Hall of Fame Inductees by Year
Murray Greason, Basketball Coach

Brian Piccolo, Football

Peahead Walker, Football Coach

Jim Weaver, Director of Athletics

Arnold Palmer, Golf
Tommy Byrne, Baseball

Harry Rabenhorst, Football

Red Cochran, Football

Bones McKinney, Basketball Coach

Billy Joe Patton, Golf

Leon Brogden, High School Coach

Al Dowtin, Administrator

Dickie Hemric, Basketball

Bill Barnes, Football/Baseball

Lefty Davis, Baseball/Basketball

Red O'Quinn, Football

Ray Scarborough, Baseball

Jim Waller, Basketball

Bill Eutsler, High School Coach

Norm Snead, Football

Len Chappell, Basketball

Jesse Haddock, Golf Coach

Pat Preston, Football

Charlie Teague, Baseball

Jack Murdock, Basketball

Nick Sacrinty, Football

Jim Staton, Football

Lanny Wadkins, Golf

Bob Bartholomew, Football

Charlie Davis, Basketball

Jay Sigel, Golf

Carl Tacy, Basketball Coach

Jim Duncan, Football

Dave Harris, Football Player/High School Administrator

Linwood Holt, Baseball

Jack Lewis, Golf

Ed Bradley, Football

Jay Haas, Golf

Billy Scripture, Baseball

Curtis Strange, Golf

Larry Hopkins, Football

Gene Overby, Radio Announcer

Larry Russell, Football

Moe Bauer, Baseball

Dave Budd, Basketball

Pat Williams, Professional Basketball Executive

Jim Clack, Football

Herb Cline, Sr., Football/Basketball

Scott Hoch, Golf

Jack Stallings, Baseball

Skip Brown, Basketball

Frank Christie, Basketball

Bill Hull, Basketball/Football

James McDougald, Football

Bill Ard, Football

Dot Casey, Women's Athletic Director/Coach

Marge Crisp, Women's Golf Coach/Administrator

Harry Nicholas, Baseball

Jim Flick, Basketball/Golf

Dr. Gene Hooks, Athletic Director

Win Headley, Football

Marvin "Skeeter" Francis, Publicist

Gary Hallberg, Golf

Jane Jackson, Basketball

John Mackovic, Football Coach/Player

John Polanski, Football

Bill Armstrong, Football

Jim Simons, Golf

Brick Smith, Baseball

Rod Griffin, Basketball

Bill Merrifield, Baseball

Nick Ognovich, Football

James Parker, Football

Leonard Thompson, Golf

Bob Gaona, Football

Bill George, Football

Frank Johnson, Basketball

Dick Tiddy, Golf

Class inducted Jan. 24, 1998

Brenda Corrie Keuhn, Golf

Harry Dowda, Football

Dr. Jack Sawyer, Administrator

Tommy Gregg, Baseball

Amy Privette Perko, Basketball

Jay Venuto, Football

Gary Baldinger, Football

Tyrone "Muggsy" Bogues, Basketball

Jack Williams, Basketball

Class inducted Jan. 20, 2001

Joe Inman, Golf

Tony Mayberry, Football

Ricky Proehl, Football

Elmer Barbour, Football

Dickie Davis, Football

Vic Sorrell, Baseball

Billy Andrade, Golf

Jake Austin, Baseball

Bob Leonard, Basketball

Jennifer Rioux Straub, Cross Country/Track & Field

Class inducted Sept. 12, 2003

Rodney Rogers, Basketball

Ed Stetz, Football

Mike McCrary, Football

Stephanie Neill-Harner, Golf

Class inducted Jan. 27, 2006

Andy Bloom, Track & Field

Walt Chyzowych, Men's Soccer Coach

Jenny Mitchell, Basketball

Class inducted Jan. 12, 2007

Herb Appenzeller, Track & Field/Football

Mark Erwin, Soccer

Rusty LaRue, Baseball/Basketball/Football

Laura Philo Diaz, Golf

Class inducted Jan. 19, 2008

Ernie Accorsi, Professional Football Executive

Tim Duncan, Basketball

Hunter Kemper, Cross Country/Track & Field

Len Mattiace, Golf

Dave Odom, Basketball Coach

Class inducted Sept. 26, 2008

Steve Brown, Football

John Henry Mills, Football

Jack Jensen, Basketball

Chuck Ramsey, Football

Jerry Steele, Basketball

Class inducted Sept. 18, 2009

George Coghill, Football/Baseball

Bob Grant, Football

Gerald Huth, Football

Jim Leighton, Tennis Coach

Nolan Swanson, Track & Field

Class inducted Nov. 19, 2010

Randolph Childress, Basketball

Neil Covone, Soccer

Paul Kiser, Football

Janelle Kraus, Cross Country/Track

Dr. Alan White, Football

Class inducted Oct. 7, 2011

Janet Bergman Fleishman, Tennis

Roper Halverson, Basketball

Dave Wiedeman, Basketball

Class inducted Sept. 7, 2012

Bea Bielik, Tennis

Jenny Everett, Field Hockey

Josh Howard, Basketball

Bob McCreary, Football

Cory Sullivan, Baseball

Class inducted Sept. 13, 2013

Women's Football Camp